The things between then and now

It’s been a while, friends, and quite a lot has happened:

My sweet Sara pup, whose soft eyes and lioness mane grace so many camping and paddling photos in this space, passed away this past January at the age of 14. She was — still is — my heart. I miss her terribly.

I told you before I bought a new home. I did, and now I am uprooting again and playing the real estate game. It’s fun. Exciting. It gives me that feeling of momentum, things are stirring. A real estate photographer took pictures in my home yesterday, and it feels like one of the most exposed and vulnerable things I have ever done. It is weird.

I fell in love with macrame. I love others’ finished projects more because I’m not that great. I did make a macrame shelf during the Super Bowl, and it gets a lot of compliments.

I went blonde. And now I’m trying to fix that mess.

I gave up Starbucks. 97 percent of the time.

I stuck mostly to iPhone photography and used my DSLR, like, once.

I thought about coming back here to share my words and get my thoughts out, though I was never able to get that far. There has been a lot of thinking and working and sidetrack-being. I find myself craving – needing – a place for words and thoughts. I do hope I keep finding that release here.

I’ve read and listened to a lot of books. I’m recently obsessed with “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying” by Bronnie Ware. It is a mix of incredible life advice with some of the most poignant and touching outlooks/writing I’ve read in a while. It hit me where I needed it as I scrubbed cabinets.

I’ve learned God puts people in your path when you need them. And it’s amazing and soulful one of my favorite things.

A momma bird had babies in a nest on my balcony three years in a row. I watched the babies finally flutter, flutter, flutter their wings for the first time this week. Now, they’re gone. I hope the next owner lets them come back a fourth year.

There were some things I would skip next time. Bad wine. Losing touch. Saying that thing. Not painting my cabinets. Going out with that guy. Skipping drinks to work later. Not taking that weekend trip. Spending that much at Marshalls/Hobby Lobby. Strappy sandals that make your ankles bleed. Bubblegum ice cream. Fondu meats.

There’s been learning – a whole lot of it.

I’m excited to come share some these things with you. I do hope you are still here and willing to stick around.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The things between then and now

  1. Paula's Paradise says:

    I only know you through this lovely blog, but so sorry to hear about your sweet pup, Sara. You were one of the first bloggers I started following back around the time I started mine. Love that you’re picking up where you left off with this great update & it’s inspiring me to get back to mine more regularly too! Happy moving & e-smiles … look forward to hearing more!

    • Lauren says:

      Such a sweet message, Paula. I appreciate it! I really am going to try to blog more, and I hope you do, too!

  2. Val says:

    I AM still here!! I still adore reading your thoughts!! Lauren! I miss you!! Reading this makes me miss you more!! What are the chances we can plan a stroll around a flea market and have lunch soon?? Love you!

    • Lauren says:

      Oh, Val! And here you are – I miss you, too! There is a 210% both of those can happen soon. This makes me so happy! I’ll email or text you! Love you!

Leave a comment