My coffee tin garden

Over the weekend, I worked on bringing some little, tiny plants to life. I gave little seeds and things a home deep inside a bed of soil in little tin can homes. I’m working on creating a reading corner in my backyard, in a little nook between the porch and gate. This, these little succulents and tin cans of herbs, is the beginning.

I’m hoping there is some green in this thumb of mine. I can’t say I’ve ever been great at growing things, but I’ve never had to be because everyone in my family seems to have overflowing gardens every year. Just in case these seedlings don’t sprout, I’m still counting on everyone else to keep my counters stocked with fresh veggies. I’m also surprised that I’ve used my entire basil plant (I told you I’m obsessed with this new basil salad dressing!).

Here is a little of my garden. I’ve been storing up old tin coffee cans and other tins from the thrift stores. My hunt is nowhere near over. I painted a few of the non-tin cans and then made drainage holes in the bottom with a hammer and nail. It was fun getting my hands dirty, and I love visiting them every morning and giving them a little drink of water. Here’s hoping they sprout — and stay alive.

Are you working on your garden yet, planting things as Spring comes our way? It was incredibly relaxing to clear my mind and focus on this little bit of nature. What are you tips or favorite things to plant? I’d love to know.

Happy Thursday! Tomorrow’s Friday, and I think we’re all thankful for that. xo, L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My coffee tin garden

  1. Sue says:

    That’s a great idea. Can’t find tin coffee cans anymore. The 99 cent store has some good containers.

    • Lauren says:

      Hi Sue — you’re so right, good tin cans are so hard to find. I wish I would have kept my grandma’s because when I do find the old coffee cans, they seem to cost $8-$25. Eek, no thanks : )

  2. Shawna says:

    I live in an apartment and have a balcony garden. I planted some things today. I love your coffee can planters!

  3. Shawna says:

    I live in an apartment and have a balcony garden, which I worked on today. I love your coffee can planters.

  4. Hello Lauren, this little tin can garden is just another example of your talent to appreciate the little things in life, that don’t cost much and at the same time make people smile and happy. I really enjoy your posts, they are a true source of inspiration! Thank you.

    • Lauren says:

      Aw, thank you so much! That’s so sweet. I do love the little things, and I’m so glad there are people out there like you who appreciate them just as much. Thanks for visiting! Lauren

  5. fatalfascination says:

    Wow! That looks beautiful! The cans make is look so unique 🙂

  6. Stephanie May says:

    I absolutely love this. I am always looking for new ideas. I have a small but unique collection of tin cans that I have wanted to repurose. I love propegating and trying new things. I love to mix and match. I always know I learn from my mistakes and not my success. I love gardening and getting dirty I recently took up herb. Ty.

Leave a comment