Bohemian style

I’m a sucker for interior design. One way I get inspired is with magazines and books.

I thought I would share some home shots from a recent Amazon purchase, Bohemian Style, by Elizabeth Wilhide. I wasn’t as impressed by this book as I was hoping, but I guess that’s what happens when you shop online and can’t flip through pages. Still, there are some good rooms.

Two of my favorite things are being home and being outside. That’s probably why I love outdoor spaces infused with a little style or personality. These tin can lanterns are such a fun and inexpensive way to add a little atmosphere to an evening on the porch or patio.

I’m not sure I would ever do it, but I like the books stacked on the stairs. Knowing me, I’d need the one on the bottom of the bottom step.

The other rooms seem a little more Morocccan to me than Bohemian, but it kind of blends together. I think the colors are my favorite part. I also love the use of tapestries. You can find them cheap and they can be to revive your bed or hung on a wall. I have one that is so soft that I use it as a light blanket on summer nights or as a sort of sheet to sit on at the beach.

And the woman in black and white? Well, she’s just an original bohemian chick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bohemian style

  1. Cool stuff, those lanterns are awesome. I love decorating with household items or using things for other than their intended purpose. It just seems more fun than picking up a couple throw pillows at Ikea or something.

  2. Lauren says:

    The lanterns are my fave. I’m obsessed with any kind of outdoor lights — Xmas lights, candles, tiki torches (which are on sale at Michael’s for a little over a buck) and lanterns made out of tins, jars, etc. I do have to admit, though, sometimes you can find some good basics at IKEA, but still not as fun.

  3. I love the colors! At Home Goods this week I fell in love with some hanging Moroccan/Bohemian glass votives. I’ve decided to use them when decorating my sister’s apartment in SF. It’s such a great style that’s really never goes out of style.

  4. Lieve says:

    Can someone please help me out and tell me how you make those lanterns. I’m getting maried next week and as we are decorating everything the bohemian way we wanted this to decorate the garden but how you get the fire inside?

  5. ZOE BIJOUX MISNER says:

    I AM A REAL HIPPIE -IE A LOT OLDER- I ADORE THE BOHEMIAN AND HAVE SINCE U WAS LITTLE. STILL WATCH JAGGER IN PERFORMANCE, AND EARLY LEONARD COHEN FILM, TO SEE THE WONDER OF THOSE DAYS- I LOVE YOUR SITE AND YOUR MOTTO- MAKE MAGNETS NOT WAR.
    LOVE ZOE – BIJOUX
    I LIVE IN A SMALL ARTS AND CRAFTS- WHAT AMERICANS CALL A FOUR SQAURE- AND I LOVE ALL THINGS WILLIAM MORRIS AND PRE-RAPHAEILITE- CHECK OUT DANTE GABRIEL ROSSETTI – AN OSTRICH I THINK, THE NAKED POET, SWINBURN DOING ACROBATICS AND WHEN HE WAS TOO FAR GONE ON HYSTERIA (HE DID EXHUME HIS WIFE’S BODY TO RETRIEVE A BOOK OF POETRY) CHOLORHYDRATE AND BRANDY SILK, BOLTS OT OF ALL OVER- I LOVE ANYTHING SWAGGGED SWATHED FRINGED BEADED AND TIFFANY-LAMPED- GOT A BROKEN WRIST PARDON TYPOS- NOT A BAD SPELLER OR USUALLY SO SLOTHFUL
    I LOOK FORWARD TO COMING BACK HERE FOR SUSTENANCE AS I ARGUE WITH MY HUBBIE OVER INTERIOR- HE WON ON THE CLAW FOOT TUB BUT I HAVE BEADED CUTRAINS IN MY SAD SHABBY BELOVED OLD HOUSE

  6. Hi ! I love and addore the boheimain electic style . I have curently refurbubished a lot of furnitue peices for our home . Now currently redoing floors . And maybe some chair rails . Some how it all flows together but looks artisty just the same . Second bedrm such a pain because it holds a lot crafts and MY closet.Its getting there though. Well hope you find inspring picture to help u succeed your boheimain home . Happy hunting . 🙂

Leave a comment