Five Senses Monday

My sister’s birthday:lately-1So blessed by all my homemade gifts from friends. Soaps and a blown-glass ornament and jelly and granola and homegrown seasonings and a knitted infinity scarf. I feel loved.lately-2
Lights, camera, action. Working with a videographer on some work projects. Pretty fun stuff.lately-3When you talk someone into letting you on the roof at work, of course you take a (really bad) selfie:lately-4I made a friend birthday cake batter. It wasn’t that good, tbh:lately-6
It’s the season of cozy.lately-9
I wanted to love this. But I kept thinking, where’s the flavor?
lately-11
The marketing fam-bam. It was an intense week, but welcomed.
lately-12
I get to babysit this little guy:lately-13
Veggie pizza for my lady loves:lately-20
Road-tripping with my canine daughter:lately-21
Winter cooking in the Dutch oven:lately-22
Waiting for someone to drop a roast or platter of oysters.lately-24
She loves me, I swear:
lately-25
I love this book. I’ve listened to it once all the way through and keep going back to listen to chapters for random inspiration.lately-40
Eat your veggies (in a Bloody Mary):lately-23

Five Senses Monday

Tasting: I’ve been on a PB&J kick, but I try to do it with sugar-free jelly (except for the homemade ones) and healthy bread to keep it more healthy … it’s protein, right? Coffee is definitely my favorite comfort snack, and I’m finding that a small cup around 6-ish gives me a little bit of a pick-me-up in this season that sorta makes me feel like hibernating as soon as that sun goes down. Those little tiny Dove hearts are heaven. I need to forget that I know about them.

Hearing: I listened to “The Year of Yes” by Shonda Rhimes on Audible, and then “Dear Mr. You” by Mary Louise Parker (Yep, the “Weeds” mom). I loved both, and having someone basically read me a bedtime story every time I get in my car is the most relaxing thing I’ve experienced in a long time.

Seeing: All the doggies loves in my life. Whether they’re my owns or friends’, they all make me happy. There’s one little Maltese pressed against my leg now. Snores included.

Smelling: I’ve been trying out a few essential oils to see what all the fuss is about. I’m using lemon because it’s basically magic, and smells good, is supposed to help with puffy eyes, and it’s good for my tummy. I’m also using a blend of oils that are supposed to have a calming effect. Who cares if I smell like a hippie all the time, right?

Feeling: Like. Whoa. In a good, busy, crazed, stressed, awesome, new way. There’s family and the finding time there. And work, balancing great changes and the excitement of recreating a marketing department and taking on new roles and making myself go home even though not everything has been checked off. And then there’s this new thing. I got a realtor. And then a lender. And now I’m, like, shopping for a home of my own! Like I said, whoa. There’s a whole lot going on. Every day it seems I tell various people that they just need to chill out and “roll with the punches” and “just go step by step.” I’m taking my own advice now.

Have a great week, friends!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

