Five Senses Monday

It was one of those weekends where I fell back onto my bed with its just-washed linens and scrolled through my phone’s camera roll to inventory of the week’s moments caught on digital film — it’s my weekend ritual. This week, though, seemed to be illustrated with random shots from whatever was being tossed together in the kitchen and screenshots of memes and motivational quotes from Instagram (apparently I needed to laugh at — and save, mind you — really stupid someecards and read feminist mantras).

But I found a few for you. And I’m really happy with them actually because each of these tiny little moments take me back to a simple week filled with friends and hugs and really real moments. It doesn’t get much better than that.

But before that, here is Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses.

Tasting:
Stuffed bell peppers, one of my favorite things to do with those leftover summer bells. Only this time, I cut the peppers into small squares and layered them like a casserole so it’s easier to pack for lunch and eat with a plastic fork.

Hearing:
Right now, the hum of both the ceiling fan and AC (it’s 100+ degrees here this week) and First Aid Kit on Spotify, because I really like First Aid Kit and I haven’t taken the time to learn how to find anything else on Spotify (Maggie: help).

Seeing:
My friend’s beautiful belly as she waits for that little baby boy to come any day now.

Smelling:
The richness of balsamic vinegar in my tomato salad. Oh, yes.

Feeling:
Absolute love for my four dogs, who are sleeping all across my bedroom floor as I type this right this second.

And now, here are a few photo, friends. Enjoy.

I silently screamed a lot this day4-1I ran into a coworker and her pups at the lake. They are loves. 4-2 Just the three of us.4-1aExploring the local wine scene with a sweet friend on a beautifully calm afternoon.4-2a
I was housesitting and needed to throw something together with the last of my groceries in the house. I came up with this mushroom tart. Pretty good. 4-3 4-4 4-5 My friend visited the south and brought home a craving for fried greenish tomatoes. This is our Calif0rnia-style twist.4-9
Late-night hankering for stuffed bell peppers.4-7
Drink wine how you like it, even if it means adding mango juice.4-6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses Monday

  1. Maggie says:

    Spotify lesson scheduled! I really want to check out that winery now! Gotta love anything with a big gold deer!

Leave a Reply

