Five Senses Monday

Red-lipped goodbye kiss from my mother:5-1Emmelia: 5-14My friend Genevieve and I took a selfie with the evening’s comedian: 5-13What’s better than a pair of birthday skates? Not much: 5-12The annual pot party happened again: 5-10My view in the office: 5-9On my 30th birthday, Maggie gave me this journal with this poem written inside. I hadn’t used it until this month, when the words and verses seem perfect for this season. I’ve been using it every day: 5-8My sister and the kiddos came over for dinner one night: 5-7 5-6 Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetI made an attempt at an eggplant lasagna. I learned that roasting the eggplant first really makes it shrink up, so the recipe is serious when it calls for two eggplant: 5-4Dining with an artist: 5-3cMy friend Paco went to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and brought me back a box collection of photo prints by David Bailey. I love them! 5-3bDrinks with the girls. Always so much ground to cover: 5-3aA girls brunch, followed by facials. What a fantastic idea: 5-3Our morning routine: 5-2Tasting: Shrimp – I don’t normally do shrimp, but I literally ate whole shrimp the other night. It wasn’t awful. Pizza with ground beef, because it tastes like high school. A really frou-frou margarita made with Justin Timberlake’s tequila that also wasn’t awful.

Feeling: Feelings. There’s been a lot of them lately. Some fear. A lot of excitement. Some nervousness over not having all of the answers. You know, the normal life stuff. I’m feeling so thankful for new friends who hold my hand like we’ve been friends forever, as well as old friends who throw those beautiful affirming words at me when I need them like no other. Excited because I’m doing National Novel Writing Month in November! Worried about the jury summons I didn’t get, and the “call court” letter I got after. Eek.

Hearing: All about Ebola, because a) I work in a hospital, and b) because I have a mother who hates the idea of me flying to Costa Rica in a few days. All about terrorism, because … see “b” above.

Smelling: Coffee. I’ve been more addicted to just straight-up brewed coffee lately. It’s not going to be helpful in my upcoming attempt to quit caffeine — yes, I just said that.

Seeing: My grandma across the table from me during a Sunday afternoon lunch. The inside of the operating room during a real-life robotic-assisted surgery. Lots of Netflix because I’ve been very into hybernating the last two weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses Monday

  1. Maggie says:

    Aww, I love that poem! I have it hanging above my desk and read it frequently. It’s got some great lines that are nice reminders.

Leave a Reply

