Five Senses Monday

Crustless quiche in the works, with garden harvest and fresh eggs.

Happy Monday, friends. I hope you had a lovely weekend. It was extremely hot and I stayed in as much as I could. That, I suppose, was kind of the plan. I hung out with my aunt, grilling things like tofu and peaches, and picking her lovely garden. I read a lot. Watched two indie films. Tried some new workout stuff. You know — took it easy.

It’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog. I’d love to know what you’re up to.

Feeling:
So relaxed on my aunt’s couch, reading magazines and nursing iced tea on a quiet afternoon in the country. Donkey’s lips on my palm as they ate tomatoes out of my hand. Sweat dripping from my pours during my first experience with Bikram yoga (yoga in a 104 degree room for 90 minutes). Afterward, cleansed and proud; I’d been scared to try it for four months.

Seeing:
Red tomatoes popping through thick vines. The dogs jumping into the pool to chase a tennis ball — and each other. My niece finish a steak before noon.

Hearing:
The chickens crowing before sunrise. Kids laughing as they worked in a community garden.

Tasting:
Tofu and green beans. Grilled peaches. Dressed-up Champagne. Strawberries off the vine. Diner coffee.

Smelling:
Garlic sizzling. That yoga room. The pizza my family ordered after I made healthy veggies.

Here are a few photos from the week, taken with Instagram and Hipstamatic.

My aunt and I picked just a few tomatoes from her garden:Even the rooster, chickens, geese and ducks get to enjoy garden treats:For dinner, we made green beans from the farmer’s market, teriyaki tofu, salad and grilled peaches with butter and brown sugar.Beans, tomatoes and bitter melon at the weekly market:
A pretty flower at a community garden I visited this week:Lunching with Maggie includes lounging on her couch, watching “Giada” on the Food Network and eating hummus and veggies.They are redoing the stucco on our newspaper’s building, which means there is constant pounding on the walls. So Maggie and I snuck away to write at a Starbucks:More from the Alameda Antique Faire:A little nighttime swimming and knotty holes in the fence.Feeding families at the Stockton Homeless Shelter. My niece Sophia is serving the cake.The next morning my sister and I took Sophia out for breakfast. I had the biggest salad, ever. They dove into plates of steak and eggs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

