Fruit is for grilling

I’ve always been intimidated by the grill. Give me a 20-ingredient recipe in the kitchen, a full sink of dishes, a Crock-Pot and a few ingredients and I’ll be fine. But there’s something about the tongs and pokers and flippers, those hot flames and slabs of meat that make me uncomfortable.

So when I needed to do a story about no-meat grilling, I hauled my bags of grilling fruit and veggies to my dad’s and embarked on an experimental foodie adventure. My aunt and friend came along on the journey that involved a grill, unconventional grill goods and a little skepticism.

We made a tried-and-true fave: My dad’s grilled zucchini with garlic butter and Parmesan cheese. We made peaches with butter and brown sugar. We grilled pineapple (best with ice cream) and watermelon (great in a salad with balsamic). We grilled portabello mushrooms, and tofu marinated and topped with a teriyaki sauce.

The watermelon wasn’t our favorite. It wasn’t bad, but I feel pretty strongly that watermelon just deserves to be cold. We loved the peaches and the tofu, and we always love the squash.

Here’s a look at our end results. For the recipes, go here.

What is your favorite thing to grill?


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fruit is for grilling

  1. cassiedawson says:

    Yum! Grilled pineapple with cinnamon is great too.

  2. Maggie says:

    I for sure need an afternoon in that backyard, maybe playing Mexican Dominos while eating tomatoes from the garden and watching Sara run around. It looks so relaxing.

  3. F. says:

    Brilliant photos. The peaches and pineapples sound so good…especially now that I’m fasting 😛

Leave a Reply

