The call of the beach

Sara watches the sun set over the surf from atop a dune.

Hello, friends. It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

I didn’t mean to stay away for so long but a week on the beach kind of forced me to disconnect even more than I’d expected. I tented it all the way, snuggling with quilts and my snoring pup between the sea and dunes. We campers fought for the car charger to keep our phones on (simply for camera apps, of course), though we really only got service if we climbed to the top of a dune or stood on the water’s edge.

Disconnecting was nice. Being with friends and family was refreshing and needed. We walked the beach at all levels of the tide. Maggie and I climbed the steepest of sand dunes. My Aunt Jo taught me the art of Dutch oven cooking. People loved my quinoa salad, even though they made fun, at first, of they grain whose name they can’t pronounce. I got too much sun. Made homemade clam chowder, and then ate more in Bodega. Drank too much champagne. Sipped coffee made on a camp stove. Finished a book. Wore fishtail braids and bare feet. Saw a sea lion, furry-taled skunks and blobs of jellyfish on the sand.

It was a good trip.

Here are some snippets, most taken with Hipstamatic and several already shared on Instagram (I’m theurbanhippie, by the way).

I hope you’ve had a great week. I’ll be back soon.

Save the dune grass.Our humble abode.Just-caught crab means it’s snack time. Everyone, grab a hammer.Pre-breakfast breakfast. Mimosas and Bloody Marys.I’ll take one green beach hideout, please.Kites. All day every day.Bubbles in the breeze.Salmon for everyone. We prefer ours wrapped in bacon and grilled.
Sara had her own catch of the day. This girl loves the beach more than anyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The call of the beach

  1. Shannon Faris-Parnell says:

    I love the pics. My idea of “roughing it” with Mimosas & Bloody Marys!! And a dog’s pure joy. Thanks, Lauren!

  2. Ana VFCH says:

    Hi Lauren. I just discovered your blog and I love it. Congratulations for your perfect vacations and for those beautiful instagram pictures. Ana

Leave a Reply

