The first week of summer | snippets of lately

Well, hello there. It’s been a few days since I’ve visited this space; I suppose it’s good to take a break sometimes and focus on the world off the computer. I’ve been spending a lot of summery moments with friends and family, soaking up all that important stuff, like laughs and giggles, sunflower sun bursts and that aroma of basil.

I thought I’d sneak in and share a few snippets of lately, all from the iPhone because I haven’t actually uploaded any real-camera photos lately. But, I promise you, I have been shooting, and I’ve even been using some film. So we’ll see.

For now, here are some photos from this first week of summer. I hope you’re getting into the groove, finding hot spots and ways to cool off and sipping something savory all the time.

Last week, I took a day off to head to Sonora, a cozy town in the foothills, with my friend Jen. We did some exploring and gathering and thinking for a special project. I think I found Pippi Longstocking’s boot!Over the weekend, I had the most fun and relaxing time hanging out with my friend Lyanne and her two boys. We cooked a wonderful dinner of Smoky and Sweet Chicken and summer squashes with lemon-basil pesto. Neither of us had ever grilled, so we were pretty proud of the chicken that was perfectly cooked. The recipe, too, was yummy and coated in a rub made with pure maple syrup, coffee grounds and chipotle seasonings. Dessert was a chocolate custard topped with vanilla Greek yogurt and raspberries we picked up at the farmer’s market. So. Yum.

After dinner, we sat around making friendship bracelets. Even the boys had fun making color combinations and learning how to turn tiny knots into cute, summery pieces.

And then, there was more squash. Because it’s summer, and that’s just the way it should be. Last night, we hung out at my aunt’s house and made beer-can chicken and grilled zucchini. Wanna make this awesome zucchini? It’s simple: Slice them like above (long and narrow). Mix olive oil with fresh garlic (we also added creole seasoning). Brush the sliced squash with the olive oil mixture and let marinade for a little while. The, cook them on the grill, and add fresh Parmesan cheese when they get close to being done. I love the really dark ones.

Oh, and that’s my aunt’s lap chicken, Dirty Red. No, she will never be eaten, though I did feel kind of bad when I went inside to eat chicken after I’d pet her soft feathers for so long.

My other aunt had a birthday this weekend, which meant there was another reason for a gathering. She was a little upset that I made her candles say 85, instead of 58. And, just how many country boys does it take to like candles on a cake?

And then, there were these faces. So sad and pathetic as they watched me pack the car. I hope they don’t know that I’m leaving for a few days to watch someone else’s dogs. I’m pretty sure they do — that’s why they’re giving me the biggest guilt trip ever. I love them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The first week of summer | snippets of lately

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Coffee grounds? How unusual! Could you taste them? Weren’t they gritty? Your food shots are almost as pretty as your awesome sunflowers!

  2. Shannon Faris-Parnell says:

    Missed your smiling prose & sunny pics. Do feel a little bad for the pups though. Really Mom???

  3. Maggie says:

    Ahhh, all this food looks so delicious! I love the cute chalkboard, and the pic of Jen with all her gear, and of course the sad puppy faces.

Leave a Reply

