Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday. You may have celebrated Father’s Day with your good ol’ dad, the father of your babies or a single mom doing it all — whichever, I hope it was a great day.

My dog, Sara, and I took a drive out to my dad’s house in the country, where dad, my aunt and I grilled chicken and drank sun tea as we sat a little too close to a lawn sprinkler. It was relaxing, just the three of us, as we laughed about our cuckoo family, got excited about travel plans and ate too much guacamole. Overall, a really good day.

It’s time for my regular Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses. I’d love for you to play along in the comments or on your own blog. Peace.

Tasting:
The blackberry, raspberry and kiwi tart I made in an effort to make a healthy dessert.
Do it:
I rolled out and baked two sheets of Puff Pastry (no, not so healthy). I used a wooden rolling pin to roll it out after I took it out of the oven. I spread two cups of vanilla Greek yogurt over the cooked pastry (you’re supposed to mix a vanilla bean in there, too, but I didn’t have that). Then, I added the fruit and topped with a drizzle of warm Amish honey. Yum. But I also tasted more of that chunky salad with basil vinaigrette, grilled chicken (a treat because, I confess, I don’t know how to work my own grill), guacamole and my mom’s potato salad.

Hearing:
Stevie Wonder singing “What a Wonderful World” today at the third funeral I’ve been to in a month. Too much Florence and the Machine — really need to change that CD in my car. My mom saying she’s proud of me. The splash of the dogs’ dives into the deep end.

Feeling:
Glad I took tomorrow off work to go explore a new town with a friend. The sting on my finger after I slipped with a knife while bursting into a bunch of garlic. Enjoying spending time with family I used to only see at holidays.

Smelling:
That barbecue chicken. The fresh basil on my hands. A slice of homegrown onion.

Seeing:
Long rays of sun from under the surface. A daughter, sad as she locked her father’s ashes into a cemetery wall. Pages of magazines as I read one after another on an air mattress in the pool this weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

