Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday, friends. I hope you’re all enjoying a great, long three-day weekend.

It’s been bittersweet, as I’ve been spending time with family as we celebrate the life of my Uncle Jerry, who passed away recently after cancer returned to his body. He was 61 years old, and getting ready to retire in just a few days. He was one of the most energetic and friendly people I have ever known, and one of the most hard working, too.

My family has been tight and strong, and I am in awe of my aunt, who has been incredible through this. My heart aches for her, and the hardest part is knowing she’s lost her best friend. I won’t ever forget the last time I visited Jerry in the hospital and the way he talked about how much he utterly loved his wife, his high school sweetheart. That, I thought, is how people should learn to love and be loved. It was a big lesson I learned that day.

This week has allowed us all to take a breath and slow down in a weird way. It’s funny how death does that. It’s easier to justify taking time off of work. Cousins you rarely see are coming in from out of town. There are lingering conversations in the driveway, and it doesn’t matter if you get home too late to empty the dishwasher or fold that load of laundry.

Here are a few photos from recent days, some days with family and mornings at home. Scroll to the end for Five Senses Monday. Thanks for reading.

My aunt and uncle’s neighborhood is more tight-knit than any neighborhood I’ve ever known. This week, each home lowered its flag to half mast in honor of Uncle Jerry.There he is. Uncle Jerry.We were looking through old photos the other day and came across this one I’d never seen. That’s my dad with the awful long hair on the left. In the middle is Uncle Jerry. My other uncle, aunt and grandma and grandpa are also there.A field of country flowers.Lunch on the porch. Caprese and fruit.Veggies, farm eggs and home-grown garlic.Sunset on the track.Sunday morning iced coffee at home. With coconut milk.Been shooting some film lately.Packing for Tahoe. Juicing lemons.Good news: TAHOE!
Bad news: DOG is dead (from Maggie).

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along or share in the comments.

Feeling:
Like Uncle Jerry is on vacation and will roll up in his big diesel truck any day now. A big hug from my cousin who drove in from Seattle. Love from my workout team, my trainer momma and motivator momma. The last set of stairs on my legs.

Tasting:
Today’s salad and lemonade with Val and Grant, friends I’ve missed for too long. Veggie quiches made with eggs from my aunt’s farm. Strawberries.

Hearing:
Family stories I was too young to hear before. A friend smiling and talking about the baby that will be here before we know it.

Smelling:
The pizza my family is eating downstairs that I refuse to touch after running stairs. My basil plant, so strong. The roses in the garden at the Haggin Museum.

Seeing:
My Aussie-Chow entranced with chickens and mules.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Seradrm says:

    I enjoyed a lot your post. recently my senses have been focused on water. An old passion returned to my life: rowing

  2. knowhoiam says:

    I love your pictures and I also loved how you mentioned how we should love and be loved. I thought that it was such a lovely story.

  3. thedsides says:

    well written indeed! was moved by this and your photos are amazing! πŸ™‚

  4. JoAnne Mounce says:

    I loved your Uncle Jerry too! Since I was young, my parents were good friends of Jodi & and Bud. I am sorry for your loss!

Leave a Reply

