Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday, friends. I hope you had a lovely weekend. I was out of town for much of it, but I hear it was very hot and sunny. At Half Moon Bay, we had the best of both worlds, overcast early and warm later in the day.

Now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog. I’d love to hear what you’re “sensing.”

Tasting:
The most delicious chicken at a Half Moon Bay restaurant that serves Mexican, African and Mediterranean dishes. Apple slices on the beach. Mom’s homemade potato salad. Kalamata olives. Spinach salad on the edge of the pool. Salty sunflower seeds.

Hearing:
Our regular to-the-beach-and-beyond tunes: Bishop Allen and Edward Sharpe. The waves roaring for an entire day. Seagulls pecking at a salt water watermelon. My new friend and bootcamp coach telling me to raise the kettlebell higher over my head as I walked around the basketball court. Ouch.

Feeling:
So much sun, so lovely. Oh, so sore (I blame you, PVC pipe lunges). Like the weekend went really, really fast. The cold water — too cold almost — in my pool. Confused by rain and so much sun in one week. That most lovely release that comes with sinking into bed.

Seeing:
Whales! They were swimming in the breakers of Half Moon Bay. A man riding his horse along the beach. The pages of two new books, both that have hooked me in that beautiful way good books do. Semi-old movies: “Sleeping with the Enemy” and “Flowers in the Attic” (both creepy and glorious on a Saturday afternoon).

Smelling:
The cinnamon stick that transformed that chicken dish. The salty beach air. Hummus on a stick of celery. Sunblock, with its distinct summer scent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Stacy says:

    K Lauren … this is me “playing along”:
    TASTING: bbq from my fav bbq restaurant … only to be disappointed that it didn’t taste as good as usual, a moscato d’asti (my new fav LOL) used to toast to our 12 years of wedded bliss
    HEARING: my hubby crackin’ up laughing so hard at a movie – “Think Like a Man” … hilarious!
    FEELING: a bit heart-broken that my year long laid-off-from-work venture is coming to an end (thoroughly enjoyed it) … and yet excited as I’m about to jump back into the workforce
    SEEING: my one brainless TV endulgence – the Real Housewives of New Jersey. hahaha
    SMELLING: dude, I live with your brother … must I answer this one? hahaha

  2. Maggie says:

    We need to plan another trip ASAP. I’m already longing for the hot sun, the sea salt air and the excitement of seeing beach wildlife — whether it’s a whale, or that weird sea weed.

Leave a Reply

