Five Senses Monday


Water hoses and watermelon. Hands striped with green paint.  potting soil under my nails. Water-soaked doggies. That way a basil leaf smells when you pluck it from the vine. Pulling the barbecue out for the first time this year. A tin can garden underway. Sinking into that pool. The question, how much sun is too much? Tan lines on a Monday morning.

That pretty much sums up my weekend. How was yours?

Here is a little weekend version of Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the weekend through the five senses.

Seeing:
My little garden space taking form.

Hearing:
Quiet. The house was empty Saturday. No calls. No plans. No outings. Just three hot doggies snoring away in the air conditioning.

Feeling:
Guilty for loving the sun’s heat on my face, while thinking about those same rays and how they are the reason my friend is gone.

Smelling:
The aroma of our first summer BBQ filling our neighborhood.

Tasting:
Homemade basil vinaigrette that I’m pretty sure will revolutionize my taste buds this summer.Sweety, our crazy Border Collie, is obsessed with water. I spent Saturday playing with the hose so she could attack the water. She loves it. Then yesterday, we took her for a dip. She loved it, even though she was unsure.I love thee, watermelon.Sunglasses. Beach towel. Kinfolk. That’s how it’s done.Fresh foods are the best foods.I painted planters.And planted herbs and succulents and flowers in tin cans. I heart my little sprouting tin can garden.Have a great week, friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Stacy says:

    This post makes me soooooooooooo CRAVE the summer and all that comes with it!!! And where there’s ripe watermelon … cherries are soon to follow!!!!!! Yay! LOL Luv you Warden.

  2. Maggie says:

    This post makes me smell sunscreen. Just saying.

  3. Mc says:

    Sorry, what app do you use the get that beige frame? I love it!

Leave a Reply

