A morning drive

The other morning, I went for a drive up Highway 88. It’s one of our little (mostly) two-lane country highways speckled with farm houses, almond orchards and the occasional ramshackled town with saloons and order-at-the-window burger joints.

I was out, peaking between rows of cherry trees and pulling beside boarded-up strawberry stands that will look lonely until strawberry season opens in a few weeks β€” all in the name of updating a list on fresh food for our annual visitor’s guide.

I decided to take my time. I drove the speed limit. I pulled over once or twice for a picture. I let a store clerk show me around the entire market, telling me about local honey and homemade pies and we walked out to the rhubarb patch β€” even though all I needed were his business hours and a phone number. In the car, Joplin, Fleetwood and Cash were my passengers. They are so soulful in the early morning.Rhubarb. It’s a mystery fruit to me. Hot pink like the ’80s, but crisp like celery. It always makes me think of visiting my 105-year-old grandmother in Iowa. She grew rhubarb, but warned me that eating it raw was poisonous. I’ve been cautious of it ever since.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A morning drive

  1. ahhh you make me want to move away from the city! These pictures are amazing and I cannot wait until the farmers market start around the city πŸ˜€

  2. asliyoncaci says:

    I really love this blog. Even the simplest of things look beautiful

  3. Kathryn says:

    I just feel so calm and grounded reading your blog. I just had to say that. Plus your photos are amazing. Thank you so much!

    Ps we eat rhubarb raw sometimes. It’s soooo bitter. I make a jam type mixture with it and raspberries. Delish. Also great in muffins. It’s not poisonous that I know of. Sorry Grammie.

  4. Victoria says:

    Love that you took your time and let life surround you…also Love strawberry/rhubarb pie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

