Let’s ride — and picnic

My niece and nephew used to beg to ride my skateboard when they visited. It used to be a chore, one that would require me to pull them up and down the street as they sat on my longboard. They would laugh. They would scream. They would wear out shoes by using them as breaks. There were crashes and falls and even a little road burn.

But now, I might be the one begging them to ride with me. Sometimes I forget how much I love to ride my longboard. I used ride a lot in college, but now, I hate to admit, it stands in the back of the closet most days. We pulled it out this weekend, and it was like old times. I didn’t fall, and I still remembered how to weave back and forth. And I remembered how to stop. That’s important.

Here are a few snapshots from our afternoon pedaling picnic. I’m excited to leave this baby out and plan to get lots of miles out of it this summer. C’mon friends, it’s time to buy a board!

A friend in college built this skateboard for me, based on my comment, “I want a surfboard on wheels.” It’s 5-foot-long and has a butterfly on top.

Decorate yourself with Shrinky Dink jewelry and Trader Joe’s stickers. Sophia style.Per their request: TBLT (turkey bacon, lettuce, tomato) sandwiches.Loving this book, though I didn’t actually get to read more than three pages with the kiddos around.Relaxing after a ride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s ride — and picnic

  1. Kathryn says:

    Bee u ti full board 🙂

  2. Maggie says:

    Aww, I miss these kiddos! I’m ready for my longboard lesson soon! I want to get good before summer hits!

Leave a Reply

