Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday, friends. Auntie-hood is exhausting, I tell you. But super fun, too. I spent the entire weekend (Friday night til 1 a.m. today) with my niece and nephew, Sophia and Joseph. With their parents out of town, we relaxed, crafted, baked and played hard. I do think, though, I left them slightly more exhausted than they left me (at least that’s what backseat droopy eyes and no-fuss bedtime tell me).

Here is Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the past few days through the five senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog.

Tasting:
Thin mints baked into a chocolate chip cookie pizza. Yup. (Recipe later this week.)

Hearing:
Four- and 10-year-olds singing along to Selena Gomez. They know all of the words, people.

Feeling:
Sun. The kind of sun tans are made of. It was gloriously hot. Joseph even asked, “Did you bring ‘sunbwock,’ ‘Waurden?’ (cus that’s how 4-year-olds say Lauren).

Smelling:
Maple syrup and diner coffee.

Seeing:
Our Shrinky Dink drawings shrink up under the oven light.

And here are a few snippets (tons more later):

PJs and toys:Play-doh and tiny animals:A picnic in the living room:Wakey, wakey:Out for breakfast:Someone is happy:He made Shrinky Dink glasses and people. Fallen creamer castle:Whip!And later, Girl Scout thin mint cookie pizza:Us, on a picnic with our longboard, scooter and tricycle:I told you there was sun:
Longboard:After all that sun, pedaling and two bottles of Gatorade, we were still thirsty. Off to Starbucks for iced tea and water we went:Before bed, a little more art:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Awww…so sweet. You are such a wonderful auntie! What lucky kidlets to have you in their life.

  2. free penny press says:

    Looks like a wonderful, wonderful day!! Exhausting yes, but my goodness the memories are priceless.
    Great pictures!!!

  3. Maggie says:

    What a precious drawing! Those shrinky dink glasses literally made me laugh so hard I started coughing. Also, I take back whatever I said previously… those little animals were a good buy!

Leave a Reply

