Breathing in Muir Woods

My favorite part of Muir Woods is that part which I cannot photograph. It is the air. Cool and salty. It feels soft in my lungs, refreshing and soothing as it goes in. And out. It feels pure. It tastes pastel green with a blue hue. It is better than crisp cucumber water on a hot day. And when the breeze comes off the sea and blows through the redwoods and the ferns, it feel like a much-needed hug. Or like cool, crisp sheets against bare skin on a Sunday morning. And that is something I cannot show you. But it is something I will remember. And crave.

Have you been to this forest of ancient Redwoods, Muir Woods? Once you take the Golden Gate Bridge out of San Francisco, it is about 10 miles down a queasy-inducing winding road. On a day when what I thought I wanted was the excitement of a busy city, I found deep belly breaths and peacefulness in a walk through the forest with new and old friends.

This Muir Woods hike was squeezed into the 24 hours in the city, which I blogged yesterday here.

I hope you enjoy these photos. Please share your favorite spots — we’re all curious. xo, L.

No trees were harmed in the walking of this park : )



This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breathing in Muir Woods

  1. looks like you guys had a great day in the ‘woods’. Always lots of adventure when in the natural world.

  2. cindy deluz says:

    Gosh I love this place! Awesome pics with matching words…bravo!

  3. la6ue1702 says:

    This blog post is killing me.. softly. I love your description… cos’ I really love the woods! 🙂 Keep them coming! Do visit my blog about Asia too 🙂 Nice work Lauren!

  4. Maggie says:

    Awww, we really need to go back and do like a full-scale hike. Love that pic of Suzy, Adam and I staring at the sky and the banana slug!

Leave a Reply

