Five Senses … Tuesday | Tidbits of life recently

Happy Tuesday, friends. Did you have a 3-day weekend? I think they are probably my favorite things, ever. I stayed close to home this weekend, which meant Monday was used to get caught up on all those little things, like buying a new set of tires, taking an afternoon nap and cooking a batch of steel-cut oats for the week. It was exciting, I tell ya.

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday (on a Tuesday). Please share your five senses in the comments or on  your own blog. I’d love to hear!

Five Senses … Tuesday:

Smelling:
Banana bread baking in the oven. It was my first time making it, and it turned out pretty delicious.

Hearing:
Conversations during visits with out-of-town relatives who I don’t get to see enough: my sister-in-law Stacy and my ex-step-mom, Debbie.

Tasting:
Homemade fettuccine for my dad’s birthday. It was another first – and success – for me in the kitchen.

Feeling:
A love scratch as our puppy dove over my head while I was laying on the couch. He missed, and used my face as leverage.

Seeing:
Laura, my angel friend who lost her life to melanoma 16 months ago; in a dream about a simple, summer day spent at the river. (Weird thing is, my friend Maggie dreamed of her the same night).

Here are a few tidbits from recently. Enjoy!

The banana bread. Yes, in a bundt pan:

I was so looking forward to my heart-decorated Starbucks cup, and was so disappointed when I got the plain “you’re single so you don’t deserve a pretty cup” cup, so my coworker Machelle made me a valentine. Heart:
One last girl’s meal before Jen’s last day:
I drank entirely too much coffee during the craziness that was last week. But it was definitely the only thing that kept me up to write every night.
On Saturday, I celebrated the end of the week with morning cocktails and a visit from Stacy. Hello, mimosa, hibiscus and something strawberry.
After I grabbed a quick lunch with my dad’s ex wife (who was my step-mom for 10 years of my childhood), I ran to the country for my dad’s 60th birthday celebration (no she didn’t go with me…talk about weird).The party was at my aunt and uncle’s home, where a few asses are a huge, spoiled bunch in the family.
The cat slept while we sang Happy Birthday.And that is that. Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Senses … Tuesday | Tidbits of life recently

  1. Kathryn says:

    I like asses! Their faces can make such weird expressions.
    That small plate on the place mat is just like a set of dishes my Mom had! Made me happy and homesick at the same time 🙂
    How do you make a batch of oats to last all week??

  2. Maggie says:

    Sunday was soooo relaxing. Somedays you need a little time in the country with some asses 🙂

  3. katyarich says:

    I really like the Saturday mimosas, very nice pictures! saludos from Spain,

Leave a Reply

