Stockton Flea Market | Shooting from the hip

When I was a little girl, my family and I would spend some Sunday mornings walking through the flea market near our home. It was the kind of the flea market that felt like there were just rows and rows of garage sales, and you never knew what kinds of treasures you’d find. We never bought much, maybe a few cheap toys or costume jewelry. My step-dad was always looking for some kind of part, whether it was to fix something in the car or the vacuum. Mainly, it was a cheap way to get five young kids out of the house.

I don’t wander flea markets much anymore. It seems the antiques and booths with odd items have been taking over by people selling clip-on hair extensions, Avon perfume and baby red eared slider turtles. But out of curiosity and a need for a little treasure hunting and picture-taking, Cindy and I ventured over to the Stockton Open Air Market Saturday afternoon. It’s not in the greatest area, but we always end up in unlikely places even though people shake their heads when we tell them where we are going.

I took pictures with my iPhone, using the Hipstamatic app. I shot mostly from the hip, and didn’t always know what was getting in the frame. I thought I was being sneaky, but now I see I wasn’t as sly as I thought.

Here are some shots from the day. Do you have a favorite flea market? (Alameda is next on my list).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stockton Flea Market | Shooting from the hip

  1. Terry says:

    Awesome! I loved being transported by your pictures! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Victoria says:

    Love it!! Love Flea Markets…and I love all your pictures!

  3. I feel sad for all the birds! :/

Leave a Reply

