Five Senses Monday

Pictures of lately (from top): Carrots from a friend’s garden, as well as basil seeds that should sprout new plants and a pecan, tasty inside its thick wooden shell. A napping kitty. A flower on an afternoon walk. And a house that I fell in love with that someone else gets to buy. A palm tree in the winter. Maggie’s new shoes. A picture book made by my sister-in-law Stacy, who collaged a front cover with everything I adore: Locke, a photobooth, cameras, vintage thermoses, the beach, retro girls, coffee, thrifting and vintage ornaments (does she know me or what?). Dinner and movie with Maggie. Beads for a project. Lastly, quinoa with chicken and roasted onions, garlic and red bell peppers.

. . . . .

Here we go. A Monday. The first Monday in a full work week. A full work week after a December of shorts weeks filled with eves of holidays and restful days at home.

It can’t be the 9th day of 2012 already. I’m supposed to have more photos uploaded and edited, more goal lists written, more bills paid by this point.

I have been doing a lot. Just more of what I want to do than what I thought I needed to do. But I’m taking it slow: trying to get a feel for the 2012 me, adjusting back to my favorite elliptical at the gym, sitting with a new puppy who’s finally coming around, and making art and food that’s good for my body.

Now that we’re a week in, how is 2012 going for you?

So, shall I get to Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the past few days through the senses. Please play along, or just say hi. Please.

Tasting:
A bite-size Dove chocolate. Because, the encouraging words on the wrapper make work fun. A hearty pecan from its shell. Iced coffee on a cold morning.

Feeling:
Relief that a family member woke up yesterday after going into the hospital more than a week ago. Happy to see friends. The feel of carrots sliding out of the dirt. Homemade soap on my skin. Sometimes koo-koo. Like I could hibernate until August.

Hearing:
Life lessons from a movie night: “A lot of people enjoy being dead. But they are not dead, really. They’re just backing away from life. Reach out. Take a chance. Get hurt even. But play as well as you can… Otherwise, you got nothing to talk about in the locker room” (Harold and Maude); Thank you, more please (Happy Thank You More Please; a good philosophy, I think).

Smelling:
Wood chips in a smoker — a distinct smell of summer.

Seeing:
A mosquito so big you’d think I was in a Louisiana swamp. Bowling balls in the gutters. A weekend fly by too fast.

. . . . .

Lastly, let’s all try to better ourselves this week … Go to bed 15 minutes earlier. Trade your afternoon soda for a walk around the block. When you feel sad, read a list of things that make you happy. Add a vegetable to at least one meal. Smile, even if you just cried. Give yourself permission to stream Netflix while you’re at the gym. Find a hug. Take one day at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Glad to read about your family member. That’s lovely news!

    Also: love that book. And WHERE did Maggie find her shoes?! I need those.

  2. Maggie says:

    Miss Lauren, I love this post! It makes me want to write a million lists and not eat anything bad and get out there and tackle the world! This week I think we need daily afternoon photo walks. Let’s do it!

Leave a Reply

