My Year in Review: August

Happy New Year’s Eve, friends. I’m only half-way through my Year in Review posts. I tend to do this every year — oh well. Well here is a look back at August. It was pretty summery and tasty.

Have a great and safe New Year’s Eve. See you on the other side.

P.S. This is my 500th post! How exciting. Thank you all for reading and sharing your stories and comments with me.

August: It started with some early evening swimming and a niece and a nephew:

Our roadtrip to Palm Springs was at the end of July, so the photos started showing up in August. Here are a few from ride down, where we stopped in Fresno and spent a night in Bakersfield:

When we were in Palm Springs, we stopped by the Ace Hotel. I love Palm Springs for its funky hotels.

We spent a lot of time feasting and lounging and going out in Palm Springs:

We braved the desert to find Salvation Mountain. On the way, we pulled off the road and found a graveyard of old photobooths on the Salton Sea. Now that I think about it, how amazingly perfect was it that west stopped there at that abandonned cafe and trailer park?

But then we found Salvation Mountain. Can you feel the heat?

Our wonderful host and Cindy’s sweet sister took us to the Riviera hotel because she knows my love of funky hotels:

Even though there was a lot of fun, August was tough. We lost one of the sweetest pooches I have ever known:

Cindy and I spent a day in Santa Cruz.

Maggie and I had mimosas in a little yellow camper, even though we were housesitting an entire house. Sometimes campers are just cuter.

I said hello to the lorikeets:

I love to eat fresh, and in August, we had a whole dinner party where everyone brought dishes made with food we grew:

I love August’s towering sunflowers in my backyard:

One of my favorite sets of photos were taken on a weekday night in a small neighborhood close to home. Sophia put on her daisy pants, and we went for a walk:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Year in Review: August

  1. Maggie says:

    I can’t believe I have read 500 of your posts! That’s crazy talk.
    I love those pictures of Sophia and the twirling ballerina! And that wonderful pic of Cindy in the sun hat. This makes me long for summer!

Leave a Reply

