Cake Pops: Dessert is served

Up until last week, I was looking for any excuse to make cake pops. So I figured, why not give it a shot and let my trial-and-hopefully-no-error be my contribution to my family’s holiday dessert table. Were they necessary? No. Were they perfect? Definitely not. Were they delicious? Oh, yes.

I based my concoction on the Food Coma tutorial, and made a few changes. Instead of chocolate cake, I used a Super Moist boxed white cake. And instead of canned frosting, I made my own cream cheese frosting with a cube of cream cheese, a stick of butter, a lot of powdered sugar and a little vanilla.

I definitely recommend using a microwave to melt your candy melts that will be the coating/last step. I don’t actually own a microwave so I had to use a double boiler, which was neither fun nor easy — especially when that’s the part you thought would be “easy” enough for a 4-year-old to help you with.

But still, I’d do it again. Only this time, I would make them smaller and possibly figure out the microwave deal-e-o.

Happy cake-making!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cake Pops: Dessert is served

  1. Natalie says:

    Have you checked out “Bakerella” – her cakepops are amazing! http://www.bakerella.com

  2. Stacy says:

    Okay everyone – don’t listen to Miss Urban Hippie! I had her cake pops on Christmas (okay, I had more than my fair share of the yummy cake pops) … and they absolutely were perfect … so says my taste buds. LOL Smaller?! Are you nuts?! They were perfect size!!! Super delish. The most important “contribution” next to your mom’s tamales! 🙂 Wish me luck on my first crack at it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

