The light at Carmel Mission

This weekend I visited the land of my childhood. It was nice and odd and sad and fun and nostalgic and weird — all rolled into one fun weekend in Monterey County. It was fun to explore and share memories with my brother and sister-in-law and to show my friend Maggie Monterey and Carmel for the first time.

After we slept in and ate a yummy breakfast homemade by Stacy, us three girls drove through acres of valley farmland to the sea.

Our first stop was Carmel Mission. When I was in school, we would go to the mission regularly for school field trips. In fourth grade, I chose Carmel for my big mission project. My mom pretty much took over the project and proved that she has some architecture skills in her fingers. My model mission was gorgeous, and definitely stood out beside the other missions made of sugar cubes and cardboard.

It’s been years since I’ve been to the mission, and it was more beautiful than I ever remember. As a kid, I looked over the beautiful flowers, the courtyard and the details like cracks in the walls, wooden steps and the light — oh the light. The day was overcast, but the sun still poked through trees and flooded hallways. I loved the light on this day.

These are photos from our afternoon at my favorite of all of the California missions. I know our early missionaries didn’t have it easy, but it’s hard to imagine life was too hard when they lived at a place like this.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The light at Carmel Mission

  1. mediaudio says:

    This is a very impressive collection of images – telling such a wonderful story. Your photography is really amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Natalie says:

    My parents were married in the Carmel Mission. It was my mission of choice in Fourth Grade because of that and as a kid, we visited often. Your pictures take me back to the walls and floors I always remember as cold and the light streaming in. Thanks 🙂

  3. Stefan says:

    really nice collection – i like your style!

  4. Oooh your photos give me goosebumps – in all the right ways.

  5. Cynthia says:

    Amazing images of a world I may never see. It’s such a wonderful collection, I can’t really say which is my favorite, but I can say I love how you framed the doors, windows and archways.

  6. Steve says:

    Wonderful images!!

  7. cindy deluz says:

    Bellissima! Kept thinking I had found my favorite shot until I scrolled to the next! Love this post 🙂

  8. wittingpress says:

    Beautiful energy coming through your photographs.

Leave a Reply

