Eastern Market on film & random thoughts on D.C.

Happy Day after Thanksgiving. I hope you’ve been enjoying a day of shopping sales and turkey leftovers. I got to work today — lucky me was pretty much the last one to call “not it” in the office — but it was peaceful with an empty office, and luckily no shootings or fires to cover. Thank God (sometimes it shocks me how much I really don’t have any interest in chasing the cops around while other reporters beg for action on the police scanner … I’ll stick to writing about my artists and foodies, pretty please).

I developed five rolls of film in the darkroom from D.C./roadtrip, and will print a few in the darkroom in a couple of weeks. I did scan all of the negatives, and so that’s what I have here.

These are from Eastern Market in D.C., which I blogged here a few days ago. I love the indoor daily fish and meat vendors and the bookstore and cafe across the street. I think that if I lived in D.C., I might like to live in this neighborhood. I might even become a regular fish eater.

Scroll through for a peak, and then read a list of thoughts I jotted down while I was in D.C.

OK, here are those thoughts I was thinking:

I like that D.C. doesn’t feel too huge. Maybe it’s because it’s literally a short city; no building can be taller than the capital (thank you, Michael, for the trivia).

While Cosi is a chain and a lot of people don’t like it because of that, I love the ones with huge tables and booths upstairs. It kind of became my Internet home.

I don’t like the separation of races at some places I visited; it made me thankful for California’s good mixin’, but also made me feel pretty naive.

Autumnal colors. I never knew you before D.C..

Don’t order take-out from random Chinese restaurants. Even if they are nice enough to leave them in your door on the 14th floor.

Just because you’re in a city doesn’t mean the buses come every hour.

D.C. — Beautiful people live there.

I missed my flip-flops. On the fourth day, they came out. And while reading at a cafe, I spotted a boy wearing flip-flops, too, and I no longer felt like an obvious Californian.

Friends should always share small plates.

You can see a great view if you go to that quiet spot behind the Lincoln Memorial.

I wish my sister hadn’t lightened her moving load so much that she didn’t have pots or pans during my visit. It just seemed cool to buy fresh meat, poultry or fish from one of the butchers at Eastern Market.

In D.C., sleep with the windows open. Even if it means you have to pile on the blankets.

I love the bikes. Love them.

I wish every airport had a mall in them like Union Station. Layovers would be so much more fun.

Also on Union Station, I’m not sure I love the Barnes and Noble so close to the metro escalotor (like right outside the door). It’s not so cozy.

Don’t compliment the farmer on her green truck that matches her green produce when you ask to take a picture. She will tell you that you must have the same teacher as the other three people who said the same thing. Then, don’t proceed to ask where her stuff is grown. She will then ask, “Did your teacher tell you to say we don’t get mad at you for taking pictures?” Um, I’m gonna go now.

Must. Refrain. From. Godiva.

Since when do songs make me cry?

Awesome: Museums (most) are free, and you’re allowed to shoot away (with your camera) inside of them.

I felt kind of sad seeing Einstein so alone at his memorial.

The full-body scanners at the airports (I flew home) aren’t as bad as I expected them to be.

Even though my parents are worried about my sister living in a big city by herself, I assure her the neighbors are friendly. Two men even promised they could “make our night betta.”

Though I’m probably insanely naive about the sheisty goings-on in Washington, I found it incredibly peaceful to sit under a tree on beside the capital building.

Painter man with an Irish accent: I regret not buying your paintings. And yes, I was staring.

Don’t try to walk/public transport around D.C. without an iPhone. Unless you like walking miles in giant circles.

Busboys and Poets is a bookstore and awesome restaurant in one.

Buy handmade soap from the woman at the weekend Eastern Market. She was really nice.

The White House is smaller than I expected.

Look for the mistake in the text at the Lincoln Memorial (in the text on the right wall).

Don’t scrape snow off your car with a metal shovel (that tip is courtesy of Mike, who may or may not know that firsthand).

That’s all for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eastern Market on film & random thoughts on D.C.

  1. Ava avione says:

    Theres a great fish market right here in stockron under the freeway at 6a.m…more fish than u can imagine at unbelievable prices..love your blog..xx ava

  2. I live in Miami-Aventura domino cavern condos. That looks like real stores and real buildings and real people. Envious.

  3. Gosh I love black and white film….totally different feel. Very cool shots my dear. Love your words as usual too…you always capture the essence of the moment, such a gift you have. : )

  4. boho mom says:

    great post, cool blog and AWESOME photos!!! Happy weekend!

  5. the word bar says:

    Thanks for the trip back to my old stomping grounds.. Grew up a couple hours south of DC and took many a weekend jaunt there.. Great B&W pictures:-)
    Lynne

  6. Maggie says:

    I love the book store photo, the pic of the man weaving and the pic of the two fish market vendors! It seems like you were more bold with your camera on this trip, and I like that you got their expressions.
    Cosi is awesome. Haters gonna hate. And aren’t autumn colors amazing? If we could just get that an like an occasional snow in California, this truly would be paradise!

Leave a Reply

