I’m thankful …

20111124-152231.jpg

Happy Thanksgiving. I’m having a quiet and rainy holiday with my dad and the pups. We arrived early. Made and ate our turkey and comfort fixings and now everyone but me is down for the count.

Laying here staring at a football game I don’t understand, I’m thinking about my thankfulness list I started writing earlier this week, and thought it would be fun to share it …

I’m thankful that it was a great year of exploring β€” Portland, Mexico City, Palm Springs and driving from California to D.C. and seeing all of the states in between.

I’m thankful for the Christmas tree I helped decorate, and for the friend who let me help, and for all of the vintage ornaments that are so delicate and wonderful.

I’m thankful for a new little frisky puppy and a fluffy older pooch, too.

I’m thankful for skinny peppermint mochas.

And roasted turkey for a week.

I’m thankful for the photo class I’ve waited years to take, and a little sad it’s only weeks from ending.

I’m thankful that I experienced a lot, and felt a lot, and grew a lot and have no regrets.

I’m thankful for Marcel the Shell.

I’m thankful for a new niece who is arriving very, very soon.

I’m thankful Maggie moved to town, and we don’t have to eat lunch in the breakroom anymore.

I’m thankful for my new phone and all of the camera apps that have turned me into “one of those people” who constantly looks like I’m texting (I promise, I’m not, I’m just taking your picture … or a picture of your food or shoes or something behind you).

I’m thankful for a family that mystifies me but that I love.

And for wonderful blog followers who say hello and comment and let me know you’re there in your own way.

I’m thankful fires on cool days, and candles when they’re needed.

I’m thankful I discovered Sark.

I’m thankful for my friends, and all the times they’ve answered my calls and were there for me.

I’m thankful for at least one weekend at Dillon Beach.

I’m thankful for new opportunities.

And challenges that always bringing a blessing about, somehow.

I’m thankful for creative gifts God has blessed me with.

I’m thankful that no matter how bad it gets I still have a home and a job and nice things when so many don’t.

I’m thankful that I have the best friends in the world.

And because Maggie said I should include this, I’m thankful my hair still looks okay when I don’t wash it for three days.

What are you thankful for today, friends?

(oh, this is the first post I’ve done from my phone so I hope it doesn’t look too weird ….)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m thankful …

  1. Chris says:

    I’m thankful for good food and family to share it with. I’m thankful for friends old and new, and new possibilities. I’m thankful for all that I’ve learned about myself and all that I will learn. I’m thankful for life, for mysteries and curiosity, and for hope.

  2. Steve says:

    You’ve covered so many things I’m thankful for as well; we have so many blessings in this life if we choose to see them. Wonderful post (and it looks great from your phone too πŸ™‚ ).

Leave a Reply

