Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday, friends. It was a fairly quiet weekend. I just stayed around home and rolled back into old routines and tried to start new ones. A fresh start, of sorts. I was worried about having adjusted too easily to East Coast time (waking up refreshed at 7 a.m. in D.C. means waking up 4 a.m. California time). But I decided to embrace it and use it to my advantage. Before I went on vacation, the cooler mornings made it difficult for me to get up, out of the house and into the office. Now, though, I’ve stayed on East Coast time, waking up about 5 to go to the gym. It does mean I’m going to bed a lot earlier, which feels a little strange because I so enjoy the quiet night hours of the house. We’ll see though, with time.

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog, and be sure to let me know.

Hearing:
Alicia Keys; I’m a couple years late, but I can’t stop listening to “Empire State of Mind.”

Tasting:
Sweet and tart pomegranate seeds. Berry smoothies. Lots of warm, wintery soup.

Feeling:
Happy to be home. Sleepy by 9. Ready to finish out the year strong.

Seeing:
TV on a Sunday afternoon. A favorite thrift store.

Smelling:
Darkroom chemicals. Homemade soap. The smell of the season: cinnamon.

(And, oh, the photos. I am now using Instagram on the iPhone (thanks C&T!). I’m loving the community of people who share beautiful tidbits from daily life. It keeps me inspired and keeps me snapping. These photos are my first Instagram shots, along with a few Hipstamatic: A few peaks around my bedroom — paper lanterns over my bed and a messy bookshelf; some small working prints from the D.C. film; contact sheets; and those fruits with personality, pomegranates.) What are your favorite iPhone apps?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. cindy deluz says:

    Ooo love the fotos! Let’s have an Instagram day!

  2. Maggie says:

    This makes me want to buys a ton of pomegranates and just slaughter them all over the kitchen. So jealous of your relaxing weekend, and so excited for fun times tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

