Five Senses … Tuesday | Film

Hello, Tuesday. Hello, friends. It’s time again for another “Five Senses,” where I reflect on the last few days through the senses.

But first, these images are from a roll of film I shot for a photo class assignment, Quality of Light. I love light, but the assignment was harder than I expected, and a lot harder to print in the darkroom. I processed this roll, but didn’t print any of these for my assignment. (These are all scanned negatives).

And now it’s time for Five Senses Tuesday. Play along in the comments or on your own blog, and be sure to let me know if you do.

Smelling:
Cajun seasonings wafting from covered pots during a night of New Orleans eating.

Tasting:

Taste buds were challenged this weekend (confession: I don’t like eating seafood, sushi, things with eyes still attached, winged creatures other than chicken, red meat other than non-grisly steaks and burgers, and not much pork at all … yeah, I don’t really know how I became the restaurant writer either, though I do appreciate the art of it all). Anyway, this weekend was full of crawdads at Grant’s, and then a five-course meal of lobster, sturgeon, duck and lamb at the Artisan Masters wine and art auction. When I told the winemaker next to me that I feel like fancy food is wasted on me, I was so relieved to hear him say he’s really more a grilling kind of guy, too.

Feeling:

Steam from a hot tub. A very brisk morning. Like Fridays off are the best things ever.

Hearing:

My sister’s call, when she asked, “Are you ready?” She got her transfer, which means she starts her new life on the East Coast in less than two weeks. That also means that in less than a week, we’re driving across the country to Washington D.C! So, I need your help — I haven’t had much time to plan, so I need to know what to see and do in D.C. and along the way. Any ideas?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five Senses … Tuesday | Film

  1. Natalie says:

    Will you have time to stop north 8 hours in Boston? If not, enjoy the corn states – they actually are pretty if you let yourself believe it. Also, drive through Wyoming if possible. Even if you can’t get up to Yellowstone, the dude ranches, huge mountains and country style living is wonderful. There’s a nice Motel 6 off Highway 80 in Sydney Nebraska that’s something like $40 a night. Ummmm, pack food. Listen to a book on tape. And enjoy! I’d love to do a road trip across the country again 🙂

  2. Natalie says:

    And Brian says if you want to stop by Boston, we’ll take you up to his parents’ house in Saratoga Springs for a weekend four wheeling and hanging out with the Feulners. He’s serious too.

  3. i love the first picture. i think thats the one that nails it.

  4. Wonderful photos, I love black and white

  5. yogaleigh says:

    Which route are you taking across? I’ve done the southern (through AZ and NM, etc. a couple of times and across 94 and 90 but never the more central one (80?) that goes through CO. I might have a suggestion or two if I knew which way you’re going. For instance, I used to live in Chicago and there’s a lot there. I live in horse country in KY now and there’s lots here.

  6. MadilynQuinn says:

    D.C. has some amazing museums, if you’re into that sort of thing. Well, they were pretty great when I went, but that was about five years ago. Hm. Have fun on your road trip!

  7. Steve says:

    I bet you did well on the assignment; your use of light here in these images is excellent! The coffee cup is one of my faves here; there’s something simple and pleasing about that image. Cheers!

  8. Debie says:

    I love the photos! What camera did you use? 🙂

  9. after you arrive in DC, slip on down a couple hours to central va and teach m how to take beautiful photos like yours! Happy travels

  10. dmc714 says:

    SOO much to see and do in DC!! Try following this blog for some ideas: http://twodc.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

