Maggie finds her whimsy

When I think of the most upbeat, most positive, most smiley person I know, I think of Maggie Creamer — a coworker, a friend, a co-adventurer, that up-for-anything person.

We met several years ago at the Sentinel. She came in to cover city government, and I was doing Lodi Living, the weekend section (yeah, we’re both still doing the same thing). While most people are quiet on their trial day, Maggie was not. She was perky, smiley and stood over my desk talking, almost as though she knew then that we’d be friends forever.

Now, she’s one of my closest friends. She’s the one who has my quote as her Gmail status, “I wonder what it’s like to work with us, and not be us?” I can leave her random existential questions like, “I’m not too sure about the mom thing, but I know for certain I want to be a grandma when I grow up” (you know, with all the stained glass windows and shawls and house that smells like banana bread is forever baking). And I like that when we go places, and I stop to take pictures, she stops with me. And she puts up with my dogs, and does things I’m too scared to do alone, like go to the gym for the first time. Sometimes she’s annoying though, like when I’m bitter about something/someone and she says, “Well, it’s not that bad.” It’s a fair trade.

And now, she is getting an awesome opportunity to share a piece of her happiness with the world.

Maggie has been asked to participate in the e-book project:

“Whimsy for Wendys: Joy-Infused Living for
Grown-Up Idealists”

Awesome, right? I’m not surprised; she’s the perfect person for this. Here’s a little bit about the project: “This e-book pulls from the whimsical wisdom of 12 phenomenal women, as they work to apply childhood zest, zeal, wonder, and play to all aspects of life … Tentative topics include: whimsied spirituality, home design, adventures, home decor, memory-keeping, perspective shifts, workplace survival, and romance at any age.”

Finding our whimsy is such a great idea. Each of the women participating in the project sound amazing and full of whimsical insight. Check out the blog here to read about whimsy and to leave your own whimsical ideas. I think this is going to be pretty great.

Like all REAL, PUBLISHED authors — eek, so exciting — she needed a photo of herself, hence the need for this lunch hour alleyway shoot.

This is her. That’s her real smile. Those are her blue eyes. And those are her awesome yellow sunglasses.

Congrats, Maggie. I’m so freaking proud of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Maggie finds her whimsy

  1. Natalie says:

    Whoa! Congrats to Maggie and Lauren, this post made me shiver. Those pictures are SO Maggie and your friendship is beautiful. I can’t wait to see what Maggie comes up with.

  2. Maggie says:

    Aww, Lauren! This made me get all teary eyed! You are the best friend a girl could ever have, and I’m so glad we found each other in this crazy (occasionally none whimsy world!) Since moving to California, you have taken me under your little wing and showed me not only what’s awesome about the state, but also opened your heart to me, and I love you so much for that.
    Plus, the fact that you could get so many good pictures of me being awkward just shows that you are kind of a gangsta behind the camera lens. Can’t wait for many, many, many more adventures and finding out whimsy day-in and day-out.
    Loves! Mags.

  3. Wishing the both of you the very best moments life can offer! Lucky people meet people who are as nice as Maggie!
    cheers!

  4. Wow! Mags rocks and so do you Miss Lauren….so glad you found each other! Maggie looks simply gorgeous in every photo….great job L.! Very cool project Miss M. is involved in, can’t wait to follow it : )

  5. Annie Passanisi, Happiness Advocate says:

    As the crazy originator/whimsinatrix of Whimsy for Wendys, THANK YOU for your giddy support and for taking such glorious photos of our Miss Maggie. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. I’m green with envy in the nicest way possible. HURRAY (and thanks again!)

  6. Ross Farrow says:

    I love the pictures! I’m anxious to see the finished product.

  7. Miss Lauren and Miss Maggie … two peas in a pod. I love you both so much. Lauren, thanks for being such a great friend to my girl and for taking such GREAT pics for her. Maggie … you are looking good! I follow you both as you explore and experience life. And, as always, I’m here for, and love both of you!

Leave a Reply

