Five Senses Monday, according to the phone

Hi, friends. I hope your weekend was wonderful and filled with sun or rain — whichever you were hoping for. At Dillon Beach, on the Northern California coast, my friend Maggie and I found both sunshine and cool, calm weather we were craving. We relaxed on a sunny beach, but also got to bundle up in layers for the first time this season.

It was our first time camping without parents, a group or manly men, which meant we had to figure out a lot of stuff on our own, like: how to keep a fire burning in the wind, how to connect propane to the borrowed camp stove, and what to do when one of you gets the flu.

Though it posed its own challenges, it was a fun trip. We read a lot. Took a long walk on the beach during low tide. Had a picnic. And took lots of photos I’ll share this week. Until then, I have a few cell phone pictures that I hope provide a little sense of the scenery.

And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Please play along in the comments or on your own blog (and please tell me if you do).

Hearing:
Cows chomping on dune grass. Waves crashing. Wind howling. The crackling of our first-ever, built-all-by-ourselves, FIRE.

Tasting:
The last Caprese salad of the summer (so tasty and fresh with mozzarella, garden tomatoes, basil, EVOO and balsamic). Hot dogs cooked on a skewer held over a campfire. Apple and berry cobbler cooked in Dutch oven (shared by our neighbors, a Boyscout troop). Sammies on the beach. SMORES!

Smelling:
Salty air. That campfire on everything. Tortillas getting crispy for breakfast burritos.

Feeling:
Thankful for speedy coffee pots as I waited for coffee to brew on a camp stove. Warm and cozy under piles of quilts. Awful and helpless when Maggie came down with the flu mid-trip. Like there is nothing better than that first hot shower after a camping weekend.

Seeing:
A blue night sky and full moon from the tent window. My dog, Sara, running and jumping on a beach filled with happy dogs. Cows in our campsite, and one giving itself a neck massage on a picnic table. Wind turbines and a golden sunrise.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Senses Monday, according to the phone

  1. Maggie says:

    Beautiful pics love! Sorry I brought the flu bug along with us on our journey, but I’m glad we could still have fun! Dillon Beach is still just the most magical place ever. Can’t wait to go back next summer… maybe with your dad this time 🙂

  2. youreitnav says:

    This is beautiful. I am glad happiness happened. What I’d give to experience just that, except for the flu, that is. ha. All in all, Cheers to Life!

  3. decorartuk says:

    That was a very nice post illustrated with brilliant photographs. The flu won’t last forever, hopefully happiness will 🙂

  4. Even your cell phone photos are incredible! My idea of camping is – well a four star hotel – but make me wish I had been there experiencing all the glory – except the flu.

  5. Debie says:

    Beautiful photos! 🙂

  6. iamjoe says:

    I took a course in college titled, “Culture and the Five Sense.” The photos are beautiful. I think it’s an interesting concept. I’m coming back every Monday then. =) Oh, and I’m nominating you for the VBA award. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

