Colors of the Carnival

The last couple of years, I experienced the Grape Festival’s midway as quickly as possible. Get in. Get past the carnies. Shoot a few shots. Leave before the lunch hour is up.

But this year, I changed things up a bit and went with a crowd: Miss Maggie, my very pregnant sister, her hubby and the niece and nephew. It’s so different being with people. On one hand, I get antsy and want to move on to the next thing: the men in tights … I mean, wrestlers. On the other hand, I love that childlike feeling you get when you see kids smiling and getting excited or nervous about a crazy-cool ride.

So, as I lay in bed with the alarm set very early for a weekend of beach camping, I leave you with a few images that wrap up summer in my mind: some pretty rides and some awkward, yet funny, family pics. This day was hot, tasted of cherry snow cones, sounded like a Merry-Go-Round and made you want to be a little kid again.

Have a great weekend. What do you have planned?


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Colors of the Carnival

  1. martha esch says:

    you’ve a great eye for composition, lauren! fun pics and flavorful words. ~martha esch

  2. schlaengsche says:

    Love your pics! Especially fairs and amusement parks are so perfect for taking photos, aren’t they? 🙂
    Just found your blog online after I started my own photography blog this morning. Greetings from Germany! 🙂

  3. cindy deluz says:

    Oooh love this post…looks good enough to eat! The colors are so yummy and the photos have a magical feel to them. Would love a copy of pic 3 for my studio….the pink hues stole my heart!

  4. You gotta be nuts going on those rides. The only one for me is the one in the car, coming and going to the carnival.

  5. rachelci says:

    Beautiful photography.

  6. Laura4NYC says:

    This is AMAZING!!! Thanks for sharing, Lauren!

  7. nice pictor..
    i would like to that these are very cute and nice…

  8. mrphotog says:

    These photos are amazing.

  9. The photos of course are great – they brought back some fond memories for me – and I don’t want to let go of summer!

  10. kirstenneil says:

    Amazing shots. Makes me wistful for my childhood at the carnival.

  11. grejsu says:

    wooow amazing photos :>
    they are so possitive and make me smile :>

  12. Rachél says:

    These are so much fun. I recently visited the carnival with my cell phone camera in hand. Loved it so much, I decided to dive in and get the real thing. Now I can’t wait for a carnival to explore with my new lensed friend. Thanks for sharing your pics…not just today, but everyday. They make me happy!

  13. Zenhayley says:

    Reblogged this on 100 Days of Photos and commented:
    I love all of this blogger’s photos.

  14. chelseadownbythesea says:

    This looks beyond gorgeous .
    Carnival Love<3
    I haven't been to one in ages.

Leave a Reply

