The girl with the daisy pants

This evening, as the golden sun was fading into the earth, I went inside the house. I was going to close myself up and have a night of writing so I could meet tomorrow’s deadlines. But the window was open and I could see the orange flickers of sun between the branches and leaves outside, and that was the end of any real work. Like a little girl needing to play outside, I called my sister to see if Sophia, my niece, could come outside. She was in the middle of math equations. But if I was slacking off, surely she could, too — at least until the sun said goodnight.

I arrived with my pooch on her leash, my cameras and a pair of flowered bell bottoms I’d found at the thrift store. Sophia loved them when I showed them to her months ago, but we hadn’t found the time to do anything with them.

Sophia used to tell me she wants to be a hippie when she grows up, as a profession. I tried to explain that it’s not really a profession, at least not a smart one. She decided she’ll be a veterinarian then, a hippie veterinarian.

So tonight we walked around the neighborhood, trying to find the last of the light. Within two blocks, we also found a cool motorhome, an abandoned couch and a rusted Ford.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The girl with the daisy pants

  1. Beautiful pictures. I love the light…

  2. Maggie says:

    I love the stop motion and that big smile! She is truly a gem!

  3. Bree says:

    I absolutely love these photos!

  4. What a lovely photo blog!! =) xxx

  5. I was there. Believe me when I say being a hippie was made into a profession by many hippies. I was cool but infuriated many by presenting that marching, listening to guitar music, indiscriminate sex, wearing colorful clothing or no clothing and being drunk and high would not help end the Vietnam War.

  6. Solange says:

    Reblogged this on leenrguez.

  7. You are so cute and hippie-ish! Now I wanna proclaim hippie as a profession!!

  8. riebobs says:

    Beautiful!
    I love photographing children, they are always so natural in front of the camera, and have huge personalities! Lovely photos 🙂

  9. love the pics…she looks so natural in front of the camera…she should consider modeling…love the part about becoming a hippie veterinarian lol

Leave a Reply

