An afternoon in Santa Cruz

Sometimes, you just have to go to Santa Cruz for the day. I went last weekend and enjoyed a long drive, blue skies and a long walk through a few neighborhoods.

I always thought I’d like to live in Santa Cruz, but this trip really confused me. There were crowds and lots of noise and trash, so much trash. It made me wonder if I crave the slower paced life more than I like to admit. I love nature and backyards and being able to sleep with my windows open; but I also like having a night life when I want it, options of bookstores and cafes to visit and so many different types of people to meet. I am not so sure there is a place that exists in both worlds. What do you think? What is your dream city to live in?

It’s Friday, and I’m hoping for a really relaxing weekend that includes spending time with friends and seeing this new Woody Allen film. I hope you have a great weekend. What is your recipe for a relaxing weekend? xoL

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An afternoon in Santa Cruz

  1. janinejulia says:

    I’m a big fan of your photography. I live in New Orleans and I think you would have a blast walking around taking photographs. There’s so much to see here. I hope you’ll check it out. I write about the city often (you can check it out at janinejulia.wordpress.com) and your photographs inspire me. Thanks for the great work.

  2. D... says:

    Hi there, long time reader (a few months) first time commenter. I haven’t found my dream city, but I live in hope. And it gives one a valid reason to travel, if one needed it.

    Most of my NorCal friends love Santa Cruz and Gilbert. Actually it sounds so much better than LA in a lot of ways.

    I hope you post your opinion on the movie. I am a long time fan of Woody’s but a few of his later flicks fell short for me. I’ve heard this one is better.

  3. Maggie says:

    Sacramento is pretty darn close to my ideal city. My block feels residential yet I’m still in the mix of everything. If I only had a yard like my neighbors, it would be perfect.
    I feel like maybe living right outside Santa Cruz would be ideal. Still have the benefits of the uber hip city, yet don’t have to deal with all the tourists.

  4. Patty says:

    That’s the trouble with popular cities–the tourists. I used to live in Barcelona and going downtown was always a nightmare because of them. It still is, we have them here ALL year long. My solution? I moved to a small town outside Barcelona and haven’t regretted it since.

Leave a Reply

