Five Senses Monday | on film

Weekends come and go, but they never end without leaving a few memories. Friday night started with homemade pesto at my sister’s house and ended with ‘us kids’ jumping in the pool. Last summer, my nephew Joseph was timid around water. But now, he goes full force, throwing himself from the edge of the pool and into the water no matter how deep it is. He tries to do anything his big sister can do, which is pretty funny to watch.

I woke up early Saturday and hit the road for some thrifting in Sac with my bestie. Sunday I lounged at home most of the day, fed my caprese salad addiction and watched lots of “MadMen.” I love me some Jon Hamm, don’t you?

And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog. Have a great week.

Tasting:
My sister’s pesto made from basil leaves plucked straight from the plant; imported feta cheese in a salad with Kalamata olives; banana’s foster’s ice cream eaten out of the container (it’s my favorite way to eat ice cream because I love the way it starts to melt around the edges); garlic fries; more iced tea. I also made a burger on a sliced baguette with mayonnaise mixed with a diced clove of fresh garlic and chopped basil. Mmm, do it … but don’t kiss anyone for at least a day after.

Seeing:
Fresh mornings; thrift store art on my bedroom wall; me in a three-ring binder; parachuters plopping to the earth; developed film; a friend accomplish dreams; kids diving in; a dark street; stars on the doctor’s ceiling; adorable ’60s decor and outfits in “MadMen” and over-sized garden squash.

Hearing:
Playful screams; words of encouragement; cars on the road; barking doggies; meat sizzling; first day of school fears.

Feeling:
Comfy under a new quilt; the bliss of a rare Sunday afternoon nap; relieved to have a new computer (and the honeymoon period before I get the bill); relief that is driving away from the doctor’s office; cold water; like weekends are too short.

Smelling:
Basil, basil, basil; clean laundry; fresh flowers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday | on film

  1. WOW. Unbelievable. The girl in the pink suit could pass for my daughter’s twin. Cristina is 27 now but the resemblance is remarkable. I had to do a triple take.

  2. Maggie says:

    Delightful! Basil is kind of the best summer thing ever invented!

Leave a Reply

