Five Senses Monday

Hello, Loves! Summer rolled in this weekend with a heat wave, a holiday, a taco-truck contest, a county fair and concert near the river. The weekend was long, but as always, not long enough. With so much fun, I tried not to ignore my scratchy throat and sniffles. My denial didn’t work though, and I’m realizing today that this week needs to dedicated to a little TLC, aka me on the couch, soaking in the pool and full nights of sleep. Yeah, we’ll see how that goes.

What did you do this weekend, and how are you celebrating the start of summer? Here are few snapshots from the weekend. I have a ton of photos to work on for you this week … so exciting. And don’t forget to scroll down for Five Senses Monday,

For Father’s Day, I took my dad to see Randy Travis at the Old Sugar Mill on the river.
We had a burger and a steak at Al’s Place in Locke.
Friends and I devoured tacos at our town’s taco-truck competition, too.
And sometimes friends just have to be silly in the grass.

And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along in the comments or on your blog — or just say hi!

Hearing:
Delayed camera shutter as C and I played with long exposures during an impromptu trip to the county fair at midnight. Yay for lens sistas. I’ll share more this week.

Tasting:
The many flavors of the taco-truck taco. Who knew tacos could taste so different?

Seeing:
Swarms of river bugs dive bombing in the bright lights around Randy Travis and his band (yes, I do have pics of the bugs). I was so entertained just watching the band members eye the moths and mosquito eaters zooming around them.

Feeling:
I’m feeling the words: “Let’s. do. this.”

Smelling:
Barbecue sauce, homemade vanilla ice cream, potato salad as mom prepared a Father’s Day feast I didn’t get to enjoy. I’m not gonna lie, holidays suck when you have to ditch a family gathering to be with the other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. as usual, great post – but really – how’d you do that thing in the grass? COOL!

  2. Carrie Lee says:

    HEARING: The rain and thunder outside my windows!
    TASTING: HOTTT Cup of Hot Chocolate
    SEEING: Lightning!!
    FEELING: Sad
    SMELLING: Rain and chocolate 😉

  3. Love the grass scene……precious. Great post sister love.

  4. Maggie says:

    So jealous of your Locke trip! What I wouldn’t give for one of those fried PB&J sammies right now!

Leave a Reply

