List 5/52 — For the love of thrift stores

I’m excited to have another list to share, even if it is a bit random. But if you love thrift stores, and you might if you read this blog, I hope you’ll think this is kinda fun. You should tell me about your thrift store experiences in the comments, too!

1. Some good finds: 1974 Barbie pool set, tweed coat, vintage Thermoses, big camera stamp, leather briefcase, big comfy chair, funky earrings, jeans and stuff, each of my retro flower/mushroom mugs, TtV camera.

2. Sometimes you find things like this.

3. Things I will never buy from a thrift store: Soaps, lotions, shampoos; undies of any kind; wooden kitchen stuff; food.

4. Things I said I’d never buy at a thrift store, but did: Shoes and linens.

5. I’m always looking for: Pippi Longstocking movies, the perfect gramma afghan, pastel-colored cameras, Le Creuset cookware, flower fabric suitcases, the perfect bag, more cameras and a pink/red typewriter, old issues of Domino and Gourmet magazines (may you RIP, sweet magz), oh, and more Thermoses.

6. My favorite thrift store in Stockton: Superior! ‘Nuf said.

7. Runners up: Delta, Big Valley and The Outlet.

8. A gal can never have: too many thrifting soul mates. AKA: Cindy, Maggie, Grandma and Laura.

9. I will never again thrift with: my dad, my little sister or a head cold.

10. On average, I visit thrift stores: two to three times a week.

11. Most-extensive thrifting trip: I used a paper map, a GPS and Google maps to make a complete, all-day route of all Sacramento thrift stores. Yep. It was good.

12. The thing I’m drawn to lately but don’t need more of: Old Dominos. Pendants, anyone?

13. Biggest thrift store annoyances: Screaming children. People who act like you’re not there. People who say they don’t like thrift stores. Realizing you forgot the coupon.

14. The only time thrift stores make me sad: When my friends cheat on my and go while I’m working. Ha,  just kidding.

15. Biggest thrifting regret: I put back a retro orange juice pitcher with flowers on it. Then the next weekend, we saw it an antique fair. For 10 times the price.

16. Thrift store sustenance: Always have liquid and protein for mid-thrifting excursion. (key: make sure you can close the liquid because things like your super yummy venti iced coffee will be banned when the lady in the jewelry department reprimands you. Just sayin’.) Then, follow up thrift store a trip to a sit-down restaurant that includes: a) a place to wash your hands, b) a good friend and conversation, c) crushed ice (because crushed ice is just nice).

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to List 5/52 — For the love of thrift stores

  1. You will want to pay special attention to finding old dominoes. Could very well be ivory. I check out junked pianos for ivory keys. I have not researched but there has to be a market to jewelers.

  2. 1. Some good finds: a zillion duvet covers, butterfly baubles, printed fabric purses, Mori girl duds, bohemian anything!
    2. Things I will never buy from a thrift store: I’m with you…NO undies! Also a food processor, down comforter, or mattress pad…eee gads!
    3.Things I said I’d never buy at a thrift store, but did: swimsuit!!! No worries I machine washed it twice…
    4.I’m always looking for: a good deal!
    5.My favorite thrift store in Stockton: S-U-P-E-R-I-O-R!
    6. Runners up: Classy Rags in Lodi, Big Valley in Stockton
    7. A gal can never have: Too much car space.
    8. I will never again thrift with: a man.
    9. On average, I visit thrift stores: 243 a week. 🙂
    10.Most-extensive thrifting trip: 12 hours of thrifty shopping with auntie!
    11.The thing I’m drawn to lately but don’t need more of: that’s easy…duvet covers.
    12.Biggest thrift store annoyances: Hungry newborns, sleep deprived toddlers, and rack hoggers
    13.The only time thrift stores make me sad: When my friends have to work and can’t go with me…touche!
    14.Biggest thrifting regret: Passed up a mint condition Sweet Pea Kiddle Kologne….went
    back the next day, it was MIA…sniff sniff.

  3. Maggie says:

    Ahh, when I get back, we are digging out that map and getting ourselves to all of the Sacramento thrift stores. These pictures are so delightful. I might go tomorrow on a mini adventure in search of those darn shorts and a purse (and maybe a dress or two if I cannot resist).
    1. Some good finds: My top find is obviously those cowboy boots and that delightful leather bag that I really need to find a way to fix. Eighty million vintage purses that all look the same and eventually all broke. My baby collection of dresses and that beautiful picture I bought from the Santa Cruz flea market (not a thrift store, but still a thrift vibe). Multiple vests, sweaters and skirts. Of course Marceaux. And little boy t-shirts (back in the day… or maybe a year ago).
    2. Things I will never buy from a thrift store: Agreed. Undergarments are eww. Do ceramic small animals count as something I would never buy? What about cat sweaters? I’m also not really sure if I’d buy any furniture with fabric I couldn’t remove or wash (bedbugs, you have ruined everything with your threatening existence). Or a copy of that damn Tom Brokaw book. You only make that mistake once.
    4. Things I said I’d never buy at a thrift store, but did: Shoes for sure. Hello, cowboy boots.
    5. I’m always looking for: Dresses, dresses and dresses. New plates or glass ware. Paintings and pictures. A perfectly adorable typewriter (no luck on that yet), and an antique that will be a “talking piece” (per my 26 Before 26).
    6. My favorite thrift store in Stockton: Wherever Lauren takes me. But my fave store in Sacramento is the lovely SPCA. And not only because it is a block and a half away.
    7. Runners up: Goodwill (always and forever), Thrift Town, Deseret Industries for all your work clothes needs.
    8. A gal can never have: too many thrifting soul mates. Aww, I’m keeping your answer. Since high school, I have had at least one friend who has appreciated the thrift. And thank goodness for that, because they have steered me a way from a lot of bad impulse buys.
    9. I will never again thrift with: a headache or when I am too hungry.
    10. On average, I visit thrift stores: two to three times a month
    11. Most-extensive thrifting trip: Same as you love. We really planned out that adventure.
    12. The thing I’m drawn to lately but don’t need more of: Probably ill-fitting dresses or skirts that I can’t pass up because I think one day they will fit perfectly. Running into a bit of a closet issue.
    13. Biggest thrift store annoyances: Sticky surfaces, rude people and thrift store workers that follow you around trying to persuade you to buy everything you look at or touch.
    14. The only time thrift stores make me sad: When I can’t find any treasures to take home.
    15. Biggest thrifting regret: I honestly cannot think of one. Probably because I’m an impulse buyer!
    16. Thrift store sustenance: Gum or mints to keep everything fresh.

Leave a Reply

