The sounds of Garibaldi Plaza — Mexico City

Mexico loves its mariachis. I have to admit, I do too. After a day of sightseeing in Mexico City with friends, my friend Rodrigo pulled our car into Plaza Garibaldi. Mariachis dressed in Charro costumes and carrying their guitars, violins, trumpets and basses stood in the square, waiting to get hired to play a single song or get hired for a celebration.

In Mexico, mariachis help families celebrate life, death and everything between. On the day we pulled up, it was my birthday. Rodrigo handed over a few pesos, and standing outside of our car on the busy Lazaro Cardenas Avenue, I was serenaded with passionate birthday songs.

We passed this square in a gritty part of town several times during my visit in Mexico City. Once we passed at night, and mariachis in the bus lanes swarmed our cars as we were stopped in traffic. They tried to push business cards into window cracks and begged for business. They always had smiles, though, and even mocked themselves as they pretended to wash our windows or juggle fire balls as so many do at stop lights.

I loved my mariachis. Sheryl asked me which one I wanted to take home. I said I couldn’t decide between the young trumpet player or the old singer because I just really loved his voice that seemed to erupt from his toes.

My friend Sam took some of these so I could just hang in the car window and listen them play. Enjoy, friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The sounds of Garibaldi Plaza — Mexico City

  1. Americans pass up a great deal when they ignore and fail to even recognize the rich culture south of the border.I think our history or mishistory perpetuates the myth that England built America. Spain was a hundred years ahead and there were over 400 missions established SW USA before the Pilgrims got here. The only reason we are not s Spanish country like the rest of this hemisphere is the defeat of the Spanish Armada in 1588.

  2. I think the visual representation of an auditory experience is really powerful here. It’s not often that you can actually seem to hear a tune or a sound by simply viewing a picture, but I think you are accomplishing this difficult task for your viewers. Bravo!

  3. mairedubhtx says:

    The schools in San Antonio have mariachi bands, the same as schools have orchestras and marching bands. Every year there is a mariachi high school band competition here where school from as far away as El Paso and California come to compete. It’ s an important part of our culture.

  4. Brings back so many memories of backpacking in Mexico! … Thanks!

  5. jen howell says:

    Lovely! We need another wedding with mariachis. 🙂

  6. LOVE these shots! The black and white make them very moving…..love your blog more than a bowl of Capt. Crunch at midnight.

  7. carla c. says:

    someday i’ll go to mexico. it’s amazing!
    once again, i just love your blog and your photos.

    🙂

  8. Randi says:

    I especially love the first shot. I wish there were mariachi bands in hawaii. that’d be nice.

  9. I love these dudes. I wish the U.S. had some musical tradition that was as pervasive and core to families and events as the mariachis seem to be in Mexico. One day I will hire a mariachi band and just have them show up at your house.

  10. Pingback: Viva o México! « Fabulário Fabuloso

Leave a Reply

