Five Senses Monday

This weekend:
The sun came out. The dogs napped on cushy beds on the deck. Movies played late into the night. Toes felt cool on fresh-cut grass. Mexico City was relived through images. A little girl turned 3. Homemade chicken tacos satisfied a craving. An elliptical became a reading haven. Hands (and clothes and maybe a blanket) became spotted with pink and green paint.

And …

Fresh fruit was perfect in the late afternoon:
So was a fruit popsicle:
Caprese sandwiches never got boring:

After a Friday lunch at the Butcher Shoppe, I was inspired to make my own Caprese Sandwich with fresh basil, tomato and mozzarella. Drizzle olive oil and balsalmic vinegar on bread (I had to use Ciabatta, but recommend Focacia). The shoppe also uses a basil-mayo spread, but I didn’t have that.

More dream campers were painted: And part of a vintage Thermos collection was sketched (and then colored in with pencils, cut out, glued to piece wood painted blue and Mod Podge’d):
And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses.

Feeling:
The ethereal effects of a truly relaxing weekend spent entirely at home.

Smelling:
Fresh basil and balsamic vinegar. A welcomed aroma I never realized I associate with summer.

Tasting:
A turkey sandwich with a now-retired coworker who always has stories of places he’s been.

Seeing:
Retro campers in my sleep. The barbecues, strands of lights, pink flamingos, hamburgers, sand dunes and Bermuda shorts that go with them.

Hearing:
Movies playing the background. I realized I don’t watch movies as much as I listen to them.

I hope you had a great weekend. Here’s to a great week. xo, L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. You caprese looks delicious. I cannot wait for summertime swimming in your pool, and general relaxation!

  2. Thanks for posting this cool article!

Leave a Reply

