Five Senses Monday

Meet Mr. Belvedere. He’s my new little succulent I planted in a vintage Daily Delight Coffee mug. I bought him to put on my office desk, but this weekend he got so comfy on my home desk that I’m not sure I can take him away from my thrifted flower pen cup. We’ll see, though, because I’m probably going to be obsessed with planting things in mugs, cutesy tea cups and mason jars for a while. I’ll be sure to share any plant life that enters my life.In addition to Mr. Belvedere, I have a little announcement. It involves me having to sit and stare at Mr. Belvedere and the wall for hours and hours. It also involves little TV time and a lot of  motivation on my part.

So here it is, I’m starting a big writing project, a novel. Yep, it’s official. It’s been in the works for quite a while, but I wouldn’t commit. Instead, I wrote only for my day job and filled my life with photography, which I have absolutely fallen in love with. I’ve been talking with several local writers, who have encouraged me to write for myself. So, I did. I got my first words on the page, and now they have multiplied into this creation of people and lives.

When I write, I love to describe people, places and the small details of life that are often key to a person’s life. I find it interesting because those are the same things I love to photograph. When I started this blog, I thought it would help with my writing, but really, it blossomed into a photography and art blog. Now, I’m seeing the two work together in ways I never imagined. As I developed characters and places this weekend in print, I found myself looking at photographs for inspiration, research and ideas.

So, that’s why I really only have pictures of Mr. Belvedere to show you. The only pictures I took this weekend were on a film camera of pizza and a sangria pitcher Friday night before the writing began. So please be patient as I find a balance between my self-given writing deadline and my need to take pictures. But now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the weekend through the five senses. Play along!

Tasting:
Sangria. On the patio. At night. Not even freezing out.

Feeling:
Crushed to learn of my uncle’s cancer diagnoses this week, anxious for him to have relief and get better.

Seeing:
The most raw, real and depressing moving in a long time, “Blue Valentine.” And the computer screen.

Smelling:
Buttered popcorn, sweet cigars, stale hospital rooms, a burning candle, black coffee, taco salad, doggie lotion.

Hearing:
“Home” over and over and over again. This song that makes me want to roll down a big grassy hill before dancing around a railroad track with a red umbrella. Listen and watch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Mary says:

    Your entry is charming! I, like you, have decided to work on my first novel this year. Sounds like you are actually doing it (I’m procrastinating). Another one of my goals is to look at other people’s blogs. No big deal, but that’s not technically a cactus but is a succulent ;<) I like your blog and will visit again!

    • Lauren says:

      Haha, you’re totally right about the succulent. Thanks!

      Yes, procrastination is easy. That’s why I sit there and stare. And play Tetris. And catch up on seasons of old TV shows. And clean, too!

      You’ll get it though, you just have to write it in your head first. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

