Byways Cafe {Portland Week #3}

When I go to a new city, I like to experience life the way the locals do. I don’t care much for fancy hotels, but cozy neighborhoods where people sit on porches and raise chickens in their front yard. I don’t need tickets to big concerts when there’s a funky open mic night or band at a coffee shop or pub. And I definitely want to eat where locals go time after time, a place where coffee cups don’t match and maple syrup is on the table all day.

When planning the trip to Portland, I looked to some of my favorite bloggers β€” and PDX natives β€” including Abby Trys Again and Hula Seventy. Abby has an entire Portland series that was very helpful and informed me about Byways Cafe, among other places.

On a day we explored the city, Maggie and I started at Byways. The bus driver had heard us discussing our route like the out-of-towners we were, and when he asked where we were headed, I couldn’t bare telling him we were going to a tiny diner. “Just around town,” I said.

Here are a few pictures from our early lunch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Byways Cafe {Portland Week #3}

  1. abby says:

    Oh yay! I love Byways πŸ™‚
    I’m glad you found some tips on my blog…I had dreams of making a whole Portland site but then we up and moved to Texas.
    So glad you are enjoying my fave city πŸ™‚

  2. Ahh, this place was my favorite of them all. We will have to go back one day! I love that notebook you bought too. Fits right in with the scenery.

Leave a Reply

