Coffee Cozies & Five Senses Monday

Happy Monday. I made my first attempt at coffee cozies. They’re so much softer than the cardboard ones from the coffee shop. And they’re cuter. And they save the planet. I made cameras for Jen and I and a ‘stache for Maggie. Later, I’ll show you some other I made of a butterfly for my coworker and a pink crown for my barista.And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday (where I reflect on the weekend through the senses)

Smelling:
Chicken soup cooking on the stove all day Saturday. Reminds me of my mom and my grandma. Also, cinnamon and spices heated in a crock pot smells like Christmas feels.

Hearing:
New Orleans jazz that I really liked until it started reminding me of Laura and the trip we never got to take there together. Grant and Laura went earlier this year, and the music reminded me a video they showed me of a woman doing the chicken dance in the street. Laura always talked about how much I would love that city because there is so much to photograph. I was curious and looking up tickets prices two weeks before she died. I texted her while she was in the hospital telling her what I wanted to do, and she wrote back: “The Lord is fixing me so we can travel far and wide.”

Tasting:
More pumpkin spice lattees. I know they’re more expensive and probably more sugar, but they’re like wintery comfort in a cup.

Feeling:
Up and down. Had a nice weekend watching my niece while her parents were out of town. We watched movies, took pictures, beaded, soldered, painted and sewed.

Seeing:
Blurry. I finished the book for Laura and showed it to Grant and her family, but it took a lot more hours of late-night computer glaring than I expected. It’s worth it though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee Cozies & Five Senses Monday

  1. anwa says:

    I love these! The cameras are so cute, and the ‘stache is adorable πŸ™‚

  2. Maggie says:

    You’ll get to New Orleans someday soon. I want to go too! It’s such a vibrant city, hence why Laura loved it.
    Nothing is more true than her comment about the Lord fixing her to travel far and wide. Not only can she travel to see all the beautiful things in this world, but she will travel with you and all the people that she loves as they experience all lovely things in life.

Leave a Reply

