Five Senses Monday

Hello out there. I apologize for being gone for so long and not sharing many photos. Sometimes you just need to take a break, look back, stay there a little while and then keep going, ya know? I have quite a few new things to show you, but for now I thought I’d share one of the best parts of my weekend: The view from a third-floor balcony of my friends’ Aptos beach house, where, in past visits, we’ve soaked in the hot tub during golden sunsets and nighttime rain. This weekend though, while everyone slept, I just read and stared across the rooftops imagining we were in Venice or Greece.

The impromptu trip to Aptos, I think, was what everyone needed. Laura got to laugh a little and not think so much about cancer and chemo, and Grant got sit for just a little while as Val and I prepared dinner. I was glad to be able to see and touch my friend after months of only communicating through text messages. I was relieved to hear hope and plans for the future. I drove away feeling frustrated that she’s on a long road, but peaceful knowing that everything will be okay.

I hope you had a restful weekend, filled with good food, good friends and good memories. Here is Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on my weekend through the senses (based off of Five Senses Friday).

Feeling:
Guilty for missing two family reunions this weekend. But satisfied that I made the right decision to go to the beach with a friend who needed the trip.

Tasting:
A loaf of garlic bread, devoured; and a wonderful pasta of shrimp, sun-dried tomatoes, more garlic and mushrooms made by Val.

Hearing:
Sheryl Crow … 10 rows from the stage = awesome. Though I can still hear Maggie chanting, “sexy,” as one of Sheryl’s guitarists took over the mic. However, she was right.

Smelling:
The strong, strong aroma of flowery grandma perfume in a glass of berry pomegranate Italian soda.

Seeing:
Val, through the lens; this weekend, shaman Val and gypsy Val made an appearance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. He was one sexy beast!
    I’m so glad you four got some time to relax and take in the soothing beach air. I’m going to miss you tomorrow! My day will be devoid of photo/crafting/mustache cuteness.

  2. Pingback: Rain, rain, please don’t go away « sometimes you need that

Leave a Reply

