Wild blackberries

I drove out to my dad’s house yesterday to pick up a load of camping gear for this weekend, only I found something a little sweeter than my tent and cooler. His garden is sprouting and I left with a bags of homegrown sweet red onions, bunches of garlic and red and yellow zucchini.
As I was driving down his country road to go home, I noticed the big blackberry bushes growing between the asphalt and the water-filled ditch. Last week at the farmers market, I tasted the sweetest locally grown blackberries, and I wondered if these would be ready. I pulled over, and sure enough, the thick bushes were dotted with red and black.
I found a bag in the back of my car andΒ  went to work picking for twenty minutes, not carrying about my blood-red stained fingers or pricks of the surprise thorns.
I learned last night that wild blackberries make one of the best summer dinners ever (and a great dessert, too, especially when you add them to sorbet).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wild blackberries

  1. love the contrast of colors, 3rd one from top.

  2. Lesli says:

    Your photos are magnificent. I get so excited when I get an alert in my email that you have posted πŸ™‚

  3. Brooke says:

    Love the light coming through the strainer – such sweet light!

  4. jen howell says:

    Love the second one!

  5. anwa says:

    Ooh, now I want to eat blackberries. πŸ™‚ I love the second photo!

  6. Taylor says:

    Love the photos, as always. What kind of camera do you use?

  7. paulasparadise says:

    Scrumptious! (the berries and the photos!)

Leave a Reply

