Hick chicken

Beer can chicken, or beer ass chicken, is a new thing for me. It’s been around forever, but my dad discovered the nifty chicken-stuffing contraption and wouldn’t stop raving about it until I went over and let him show me its magical powers. I dragged Maggie along for the experience. “Galt at its finest,” she said. (Galt never disappoints: There’s always a reason to make fun of it).

My dad bought the stands at Walmart for 5 bucks each. If I would have known these things would make him so happy, I could have saved a lot of time and money trying to buy him gifts over the years. Maybe next year I can find something that will help him drink a beer without actually having to hold a can.

So here’s how you make beer can chicken, from what I could tell: Clean the chicken (cook insides for dogs; yes, it was a country-fied day). Open a beer can, pour a little out (or, in his case, drink it), and slice most of the top off. Season the chicken with whatever you like. Place the beer can in its spot and then stuff the chicken over that. This is important: Stuff the neck of the chicken with a slice of potato (like the first photo in the above collage) to keep the steam and stuff from sneaking out in the bbq. Tie the wings down. Then you barbecue.

The finished product is super yummy and the meat just falls off the bone. The second most important part is making sure you have good side dishes. Sunday we had a feast with fruit salad, asparagus, corn on the cob, rolls and salad. I must say, he was right. Dinner was awesome, even if the two headless chickens are funny looking.

Lastly, I just had to point out to you that my dad keeps a Christmas photos of my dog β€” his granddaughter β€” on his refrigerator door. Pure love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hick chicken

  1. laura says:

    cant WAIT to try this someday. im gonna get one of those contraptions at walmart! yummmy πŸ™‚ love this blog! and i love that your dad has sara’s xmas pic up all year round. He is a wonderful grandfather πŸ™‚

  2. Angel says:

    Hey, I LIVE in Galt and there aren’t that many things…to…make fun…

    Ugh…who I am I kidding.

    Awesome recipe. πŸ™‚

  3. anartsychick says:

    This is so funny, and also rather informative! If I understand this correctly…you have to cut off the top of the beer can? What do you use to cut the can?

Leave a Reply

