Let kayak season begin!

Find links to these Polaroids here.

Ah, kayaking. My heart really wants to paddle. I realized recently that last year by this time, I’d already pulled out the kayaks. Maggie and I took a trip up the Mokelumne River outside of Lodi (that trip blogged here).

This morning, as the sun is already too bright and my jeans already feel too hot and uncomfortable against my skin, I’m craving the open water with all of its freedom and freshness and relaxing powers.

It’s important that you understand what kind of kayaking I’m talking about. People are often too scared to commit to going with me because they envision white waters and tipping boats. Not the case. I’m talking slow, pretty-much-still waters. The kayaks aren’t the kind that keep you locked in at your waist, but rather your legs are free and you tan and soak up the sun for hours. We stop, eat, swim, let the dog play. Yes, the dog kayaks, too, sometimes. It’s by far one of the most relaxing things, ever.

The above photos are some of my favorite Flickr photos, or Polaroids, of days spent kayaking. I really want to find some cheap Polaroid film for my own cameras so I can take some of these summer-esque shots on the water.

And now, here are some of my own favorite kayaking shots from The Urban Hippie archives (click on the photo to see the original post). Enjoy some water soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let kayak season begin!

  1. I kayaked at Lake Natomas for the first time last summer, and it was one of my favorite days ever. So gorgeous and relaxing. I’ve never gone on the Mokelumne, I should try that πŸ™‚

  2. Taylor says:

    Kayaking is one of my favorite things about summer, can’t wait!!!!

  3. Maggie says:

    That does it! Next weekend we are going. We shall start planning tomorrow!

  4. insighttoanindividual says:

    I love kayaking!!

Leave a Reply

