Pirates R Us

On Friday, us girls got together for a pirate party. Isn’t that childish or dorky, you ask? But I say, um, wouldn’t you like to stare at Johnny Depp for at least six hours? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

The first stop was the market, because who can go into an all-nighter without supplies for a French toast breakfast?

The pirate beard is probably the greatest thing I’ve ever made.

Hot brownies and Birthday Party ice cream at the 4 a.m. start of the third “Pirates of the Caribbean” DVD. Absolutely awesome!

I remember officially going to sleep sometime after 6 a.m. I could see the sun starting to rise through the window. We slept til just around 9 and Amanda made us awesome mochas topped with marshmallow fluff and sprinkles. Oh yeah, and we watched “The Goonies.”

Girls started going home around noon, but a few of us stuck around and ate more ice cream and lounged in the sun.

Candace spread blankets out on the grass in her lush backyard….

And that’s exactly where we stayed ALL day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Pirates R Us

  1. Sigh. I want your friends. This looks epically amazing.

  2. Breland Kent says:

    Great blog, thanks for sharing πŸ˜‰

  3. Andrea says:

    You can coe find me after Finals are all over! I love it! This sounds like something I’d do!

  4. ramonakent says:

    Cute photos…Love this!!

  5. Charamy says:

    Your friends look like so much fun, seems like you had a blast! I hope to find that some day.

  6. Brandy says:

    I agree with Amy, that does look epic! ^.^ I am so new at this site…. You are the first blog I’ve read!

  7. Pie says:

    What fantastic photos, the further I scrolled, the more I smiled. You must’ve had a fabulous time. I’m determined to find a way to get a fix of that kind of carefree silliness asap.

  8. Pie says:

    I thought the beards were particularly good.

  9. Melissa says:

    what an amazing idea! the beard was awesome!

  10. katiesandwich says:

    That looks like an absolute blast. I wish I had been invited!

  11. hideawaywithme says:

    I would love to do something like this with my friends. Was it planned real well or did it fall together?

  12. edta says:

    WOW!Nice picture!Funny

  13. Allan says:

    Very interesting and seems lots of fun.
    Do you have time for work ?

  14. Bettina B says:

    Oh, I love pirates! Looks like a fun party! ;D
    Great photos, too. (:

  15. Blair says:

    I’m so jealous! Beautiful photos!

  16. paulasparadise says:

    Oh, what fun! That pirate beard thingy is just the best!! My daughter actually got to see a small part of the filming of Pirates II & III in The Bahamas, so we are complete pirate freaks (and I’ve lost count of how many times we’ve seen the movies!). Your wonderful photos & fun have inspired me to get busy and plan a party for an event I heard about via Dave Barry’s column quite awhile back: International Talk Like A Pirate Day (Sept. 19), which is also a hoot: http://www.talklikeapirate.com

    Avast! Thanks for the smiles – love your blog and your blog links!

  17. Salma Khan says:

    Aww cute pics, now I want to have a Pirate day sleepover too πŸ™‚

  18. slamdunk says:

    Sounds like a good way to spendt time with friends…

  19. lolita dress says:

    So cute, happy every day.
    Enjoy living…

  20. Songbird says:

    lol… what a great night you’ve all had! And fabulous costumes I have to say!

  21. joniphippin says:

    Avaste ye!
    Wow what piratey fun. We had a fundraiser pub treasure hunt where everyone dressed up and spoke pirate. It was amazing and we raised a good amount. But yours looks better. Sunshine. friends and food. arrrrr.

  22. underexposedtechnicoloredlife says:

    love the last photo!
    cool blog lady

    http://underexposedtechnicoloredlife.wordpress.com/

  23. dancingirja says:

    Looks like fun! cute photos

  24. Sherry K. says:

    Very cute girls!!

  25. hihi, looks fun. I especially started to droll over “mochas topped with marshmallow fluff and sprinkles.” Yum Yum Yum!

  26. Heather says:

    That is an amazing 24 hours. I love that idea for a night with the girls. Your friends look fantastic, as does the mocha with sprinkles. πŸ™‚

  27. pyrit says:

    Ye spun a good yarrrn ‘ere.

  28. becky says:

    This looks awesome. If you have an open invite for your next themed movie slumber party, I’m there.

    PS. I definitely just filed that beard under “future craft projects”.

  29. I am stealing this idea of an evening. FACT. So wholesome!

  30. patissonne says:

    Looks like so much fun! I want to plan something like this with my friends too! Lol

  31. Becca says:

    You’re outfits are SO adorable!!!! Your friends look like tons of fun. πŸ™‚

  32. Sarah Gupta says:

    O. M. G.

    That pirate beard is amazing. I’m totally inspired to throw a girly pirate party too!

  33. Bread, Maple Flavored…lol

  34. FANTASTIC BEARD. congrats.

  35. Tom says:

    Those are great pic’s!!!

  36. You guys are TOO EFFING CUTE.

    Just one thing though…should we be concerned about that entire shelf of what appears to be unrefrigerated hot dogs? And if they’re the kinda hot dogs that doesn’t need to be refrigerated, I wonder what’s *IN* them dawgs…

    Also, LOVE the beard.

  37. Sarah says:

    I just found your blog and I am loving reading it. The post about Laura was inspiring and I love this pirate party! You are going on my blog roll for sure!

  38. Daph says:

    LOL This is great! Reminds me of my friends back home. Nicely done πŸ™‚

  39. munty13 says:

    The booze! Where’s the booze? Just kidding. It only shows you can have fun without the need to fall to your knees and hug the toilet. Just bring icecream. And a beard. Muchos kudos.

  40. waywardchild says:

    So weird! I just added a pirate inspired pic, and then stumbled accroos your blogg. That looks like so much fun. I think I might have a themed birthday this year…hmmm, bring out the ‘staches!

  41. insighttoanindividual says:

    I love your pictures they all look so professional! Looks like a great time, thanks for sharing it with us!
    Jen…x

  42. arnoldcifaxjr says:

    Dude! This is awesome!

  43. Cait says:

    Arrrgggggh, to be a pirate. Looks like an absolutely fabulous time. So much creativity … I too wish I had your friends!

  44. rubiescorner says:

    This was a wonderful adventure! Lots better than watching six hours of Johnny Dep. Looks like you had a good time.

  45. ditacaffeinated says:

    What a great idea!

  46. kendylau says:

    fun things to do with friends! you guys looked happy;) Keep it up!:D

  47. jayjayne says:

    Looks like EPIC fun!

    My friend’s and I are planning a Pirate Putt Putt night soon! Inspired by your awesomeness!

    Also – how did you make your beard? :3

    • Lauren says:

      Hi, thanks for visiting!
      To make the beard, I just cut the shape of the mustache and glued long pieces of yarn to it. I let it dry completely and then braid the long yarn and add a few beads. I used tape to attach the stick, but there are better options if you aren’t crunched for time.

  48. rawrstacie says:

    pirates arrrrrre legit.
    and so are your photos.

  49. Pingback: Any event with legendary in the title has to be good. « sometimes you need that

Leave a Reply

