Going up the mountain

This Easter, my family decided to skip the fancy baskets full of candy and huge dinner and climb a mountain instead.

Missouri Maggie, who joined the family for the weekend, and I tried to go to bed early Saturday night, knowing 5 a.m. would come too soon. And it did.

We pulled ourselves out of bed, dressed in our pre-planned layers and kissed the doggies goodbye (California state parks suck when it comes to allowing dogs in). With travel bags packed with iPods, Poptarts, trailmix, chocolate Easter eggs, bead supplies and new magazines, we made ourselves comfortable for the three-hour drive in the back seat of my parent’s Suburban.

The first Starbucks bathroom break came fast. And then the second Starbucks stop was 20 minutes later. We’ll get to the top of the mountain sometime before nightfall, we thought.

We thought the stops were over, until I looked at my camera, which sadly announced: “No CF card!” Are you kidding me? I couldn’t believe it! I had my whole bag packed and no memory card. But thank God for Wal-Mart, cuz it saved the day, even though it cost me 30 bucks I kinda didn’t want to use. Oh well. I can’t imagine if I wouldn’t have had my camera. Here is the first post from the day. Check back this weekend for more!

Joseph ready for the hike in his little backpack (with a leash attachment, great for the cliff areas of the hike).

My brother-in-law John, my sister Elissa and me.

My mom sportin’ her Army fatigue shorts, leggings with zippers and slippers. Awesome.

Mom made healthy, energy rice crispy treats with all kinds of healthy stuff in it. she made it the whole day without hurting herself and then dropped that pan with that brick loaf on her foot as soon as we got home.

The beginning. We made it all the way to the top of that ridge. Freaky, but cool.

Yay, my sister-in-law Stacy and cousins Tony and Sally also went on the hike.

My mom rushed the mountain with Joseph on her back for at least 2 hours. She’s crazy powerful.

My step-dad and brother check out the upcoming feat. I think that’s a little fear in those eyes?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going up the mountain

  1. nbukrey says:

    I really like the antique look you put on some of your photos. Can you share your photoshop secret?!

    • Lauren says:

      Hi, of course I’ll share cus I hate when people won’t share with me! Haha. I actually use Totally Rad Actions in Photoshop. You can google them and see a tutorial on their web site. It’s really fun. If you have Photoshop, I recommend getting actions, even if they are the free ones you can download individually.

  2. Pingback: Reaching the Pinnacle « sometimes you need that

Leave a Reply

