It came from grandma’s house

It’s Thursday night and it feels so go to just stay in. I went to the gym for a little while and spent the rest of the evening searching for a missing pair of shoes and putting away a pile of trinkets my grandma brought earlier this week. My grandma is the biggest thrifter and bargain hunter I’ve ever known. EVER. All of her finds come together so perfectly kitsch in her home, but she can’t hang on to anything for too long before she gets the urge to pass it along. We get these huge bags of teeny-tiny items with little hand-written notes saying things like, “I really enjoyed this,” “this works great” and “this is really old.” It’s so cute. It’s always fun to unpack the surprises. Sometimes they have our names on them; other times, they’re for everyone to dig through. Sometimes, though, we find the funniest things, things you’d probably never see anywhere except her house. Here is a little collage of some things she brought me this week, some that I really do like and others that I’m not quite sure what to do with. I’m not going to tell you which though.

Top left-right: A tiny ceramic purse; a partially burnt candle; teeeeeny-tiny tea pots with roses on them; a purse-shaped picture frame; strings and yarns; a ceramic sun hat; mini oriental vases; a French press.

And more: A little tiny jewelry box topped with a pink hat; a bronze ash tray; a beaded lampshade; yep, that’s a Thomas Kinkade night light; a clay hat; a super mini Victorian shoe; a multi-colored lantern; and a little straw basket from Mexico.

Another perk of today was finding a roll of 120 black and white film at the thrift store for only $1.45 and getting my Etsy order of glass in the mail. Yay!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It came from grandma’s house

  1. cindy says:

    oh my gracious, oh my soul. what a love, your grandma.

Leave a Reply

