My first Festivus

This year was a year of many firsts, including my first celebration of Festivus on the eve of Christmas Eve. I enjoyed making new friends and seeing the tradition that includes gathering around an unadorned metal Festivus pole (instead of a Christmas tree), the airing of grievances and Feats of Strength (though we played Liar’s Dice for the ugliest trophy ever).

Nine-beast stew (aka cioppino) was a collaborative effort by Mia and Victor. Though I don’t eat seafood, they did a marvelous job, and I obviously had fun taking pictures of it all.



There were even lobster bibs, which Monica and Mark proudly wore.


Victor gave a very spiriting airing of his grievance about customers who don’t tip after a haircut. It was pretty awesome. Mia also felt strongly about nickels. She hates them. Laura hates when people drive too slow in the fast lane, which caused a little uproar at the table. There were a lot of customer service rants. I complained that Starbucks near work closed and the local coffee shop charges me a ton to use my ATM card, which pretty much doubles the cost of a cup of coffee. I was going to grieve about circus peanuts, because they’re freaking nasty, but Mark had enough grievances for us all.

After dinner, Mark and Victor broke out the guitars and gave us a little acoustic show. Again, awesome. Or, as Laura likes to say, “that’s so sexy.”

At the end of the night, it was time to battle for the peacock trophy with a game of Liar’s and Dice. Slowly by slowly, players were killed off until it was just John and me. We rolled our last dice, and I won. Yay! The trophy is all mine and waiting to go with me to work on Monday, where it will be displayed prominently for one whole year β€” until I defend the title at next Festivus.

As you can tell by Mark’s pole groove, Festivus was super fun. Thanks so much Mia and everyone else for a great evening!

Oh, I can’t forget to mention the Festivus Miracles. Many were experienced during the week, but mine came yesterday after I accidentally deleted ALL of the Festivus photos from my camera’s memory card before I uploaded them. After a ton of computer and CF card hacking, I finally recovered them. Super yay!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My first Festivus

  1. Mia Brown says:

    Lauren, the photos are gorgeous!! I’m glad you had a good time, and congratulations on winning the coveted peacock trophy!

  2. This is one of those posts that makes me want to hang out with you—your friends seem so cool! Festivus sounds like a great time.

  3. Monica Burkner says:

    Lauren – your photos are amazing! thank u for documenting this most memorable evening! I had a blast hanging out with u! congrats again on winning the trophy – u so deserve it!

  4. Jen Howell says:

    Looks like fun! nice work capturing the feel!

  5. Mark Peet says:

    Good times. Is there a “Festivus in July?”

  6. laura says:

    YES festivus in JULY! i say yes yes yes! i love those pics……….you captured the evening perfectly. Thank you Mia for putting on such a great night. and btw Lauren the trophy is BEAUTIFUL! πŸ™‚

  7. Maggie says:

    I’m pretty pumped that the newsroom will be graced with the presence of the Festivus trophy. Floyd will enjoy sitting in it.

  8. Pingback: Loving Laura | The Urban Hippie

Leave a Reply

