Bead Fetish & Butterflies

The Bead Fetish is one of my favorite spots in Sacramento. There are three rooms of glass and stone beads, charms and anything you need to make something pretty.

I wasn’t sure what I was looking for because I felt so overwhelmed by all the possibilities. Like always, my shopping tray was filled with pieces that could be a potential project, but I couldn’ settle on one idea.

But then, I saw the butterfly charm. It was very similar to the butterfly on a necklace I loved so much but lost, a necklace that was given to me by my great friend Viridiana. I decided I’d try to recreate it, though I could only remember it was very earthy with brown braided string and turquoise beads. They didn’t have the same string, and I really don’t even know what it’s called, but I settled on thin brown leather. I bought some beautiful colorful beads, but changed my mind later and used some green ones I found in my bead box.

I couldn’t figure out how I wanted to do it at first (and silly me didn’t think to buy enough leather so I was a little limited). But I just did something so very simple with knots and few green beads. I do like it, but I might reconstruct it one of these days when I get more leather (or find that other string stuff). Any ideas?

Have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bead Fetish & Butterflies

  1. Beautiful beads! I dream of making a bed curtain sometime soon.

  2. I mean bead curtain πŸ™‚

  3. Daan says:

    beads can make a fantastic photo opportunity!! Gorgeous pictures – again!!
    I remember a groovy bead-shop in Brighton, UK, where i always went a little crazy, buying too many and then not knowing what to do with them…

    Like your butterfly necklace…

  4. kseverny says:

    so many beads. they might make a nice pecie of artwork

Leave a Reply

